Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

New E350 6.0 Quigley

15K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  DieselDweller 
#1 ·
So I just bought the ultimate SUV, a 2007 E350 6.0 with the Quigley 4x4 mod. The interior is tricked out with leather captains chairs and 5 video screens, upgraded wheels and tires -- it's *****in'! I bought it "used" with 3500 miles on it.

The downsides? 13MPG, a bit noisy if you're watching a video. The added lift for the 4x4 makes it hard to enter/exit. And it weighs 7500 pounds! So much for towing anything. I'm new to diesel, and I know that Ford had issues with the 6.0 when it first arrived on the market, so a couple of questions for those in the know:

1. Has Ford worked the bugs out of the 6.0 by the 2007 model year? If not, what should I watch out for?
2. If GVW is 10,000 pounds, am I stuck owning an ultra-lite trailer?
3. I've still got a ton of warranty left, so I'm not going to do any engine mods. Can I up-size the exhaust without creating back-pressure problems?
4. Can someone recommend some step bars or running boards that will look fresh on this rig?
5. Should I use synthetic oil? Should I change my oil every 5K miles if I do?

Thanks in advance for all the help. I'm a newbie, so forgive my enthusiasm and ignorance.

j

See less See more
#2 ·
My truck says 12K on the door label, crossed the scales at almost 20K with loaded trailer sometimes... tows great. You should have no problem towing up to 6K or 7K of trailer, maybe more. You will have to worry about Johnny Law and the 10K, not the truck it's self. The truck is rated for 10K alone, the combined lbs of 10K for truck, XXK for trailer, combined less than 26K, and you probly won't catch any attention from Johnny Law.

Check the 6.0 forum for details on what bugs are worked out, what upgrades are recomended.

Good luck with your new ride... got any pictures to post?

#3 ·