Tach - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2010, 12:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tach

I have a 2001 E350 diesel van, a friend has a 2001 F350 Diesel pick-up his Instrement cluster looks like it would exchange for mine except he has a tach.
Does anyone know if the pick-up will go in the van dash and if could then make the tach work????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-25-2010, 12:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fountain Inn, SC
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have done it to mine. It would be easier on yours since your van is about the same year as the superduty. You should be able to use a 99-00 cluster. They changed the plugs in 01 or 02. Just get some wiring diagrams and see which wires you need to switch. Mine being a 97, I have to calibrate the tach since the signal is different on the earlier 7.3 and some of the circuits have to be switched from positive to ground. But, since you have a newer model, you might be able to just swap the wires around and be good to go.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-25-2010, 12:15 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fountain Inn, SC
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oh, and the wire for the tach is located in the engine bay on the drivers side of the cowl. It is pink with a white stripe and is labeled CTO.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:51 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hey thanks it seemed to me that it would be possible, now all I have to do is get the cluster..........time to hit the wrecking yards!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-03-2010, 09:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Metropolis, IL
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did you find one?

I'm curious as stated does the 2000 require wire swaps if a 2000 f diesel cluster is used?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors