SIngle wheel to Dually - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2013, 05:54 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SIngle wheel to Dually

I have '05 F250 and want to make it a dually. Can I use my rearend or do I need to swap for a dually? I've gotten several different ideas from others. Eventually I want 10 lug adapters and a flatbed. I'm no pro so take it easy on me. Just lookin for some advice and the most effective way to accomplish the goal. Thx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-18-2013, 06:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

(All of my advice is assuming you want a practical load capacity upgrade, if you just want more wheels then disregard most of what I post.) I used to have a single rear wheel, only on my '99. Still, I recommend NOT trying to use the original SRW axle if you plan on doing anything other than looking cool. Unless I am badly mistaken, the SRW is a different axle entirely compared to a Dually, therefore everything will be smaller and weaker. My advice is to get yourself a Dually axle for your truck year. It will either be a Dana 80 or Dana 110, I forgot when they started dropping them in the F-350s officially.

Also, upgrade your leaf springs, otherwise you won't gain load capacity. The axles come stronger than the springs. Makes sense, I would prefer to pop a spring than to crack and axle... Look at an '05 F-350 dually and make note of the overload springs and ledges, you will need these as well if you plan to bump up your rear axle capacity.