New to Ford's, new to Diesels - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2012, 01:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New to Ford's, new to Diesels

Hi guys, I've been driving Nissan Titans for the last 6 years -- please don't hate me -- but the DW and I can't find a fifth wheel we like in our weight class.

I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on a 2006 F-350 dually with FX4. Here's a link to the truck: 2006 Ford F350 Pictures and Photo Gallery at CarMax.com

I've been reading carefully in here and think I have a good understanding of the potential problems with the PSD. The truck has 52K miles on it. According to the Oasis report it had a turbo replaced in 2007, but that's it. Nothing else on the report.

I bought a scangauge II for the test-drive (it's being transferred from Nashville this week). During my test drive I plan to heat it up and have a look at the FCIM voltage and the ECT/EOT delta.

My question is -- and I know there's no guarantees -- with a very clean Oasis, and assuming the scangauge doesn't report any impending conditions, do you think I've got a good buy here?

Thanks in advance. Never owned a diesel and I'm a bit apprehensive. I used to work on cars when in was a kid. Haven't turned a wrench since that last head job on a Rambler classic 20 years ago. Think I can handle this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-01-2012, 04:57 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 9 reviews
to powerstroke.org first of all.

I'd love to tell you you're getting a great buy here but there's no guarantee like you say.

Looks can be very deceiving with this particular truck. Thing is, and correct me if I'm wrong here someone, that the truck is out of warranty by date which means all repairs may not show up on oasis.