Plow truck 4x4 not working - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 05:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Plow truck 4x4 not working

There is snow in the forcast and my 99's 4x4 is not working. I brought my truck in to get scanned and when it was hooked up, the scan tool showed that my switch was working.. could see when switch was turned from 2x2 to 4h and 4l. The mechanic told me that the acuator motor to the t/c was not engaging. Checked the connections and were ok. I switched out the acuator motor and still nothing. There is no light showing on the dashboard. I checked the fuse and it was ok. Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks!
walleye guy is offline  
post #2 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 05:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
farmboypowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i had the same thing. mine was a connection
farmboypowerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 05:47 PM
KVFD
 
redstroker_2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kearney, Nebraska
Posts: 4,061
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to redstroker_2002
where are you located i got a few plow trucks that might be able to plow if we dont get any! let me know and i dont know why ur 4x4 isnt working?????

-Josh

2008 2500 LMM- Deleted, Blocked, Fueled, & Tuned by:
redstroker_2002 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 05:49 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
plow truck not working

Was it one of the connectors that go to the acuator moror? So what did you do to fix the problem? Change connector or wire or ??? Is there a way to figure out if it is a connector?
walleye guy is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 06:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
460+'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Liberty,In
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
When you switch to 4x4 can you turn the front drive shaft? If not the accuator on the t case is working,but maybe the lockouts arent, or just faulty dash light.

99 F350 4x4 dually
7.3 w/K&N af
4" exh into 6" Aussies stacks
4"lift &35" tires
CC mod HP crossover line
Beans stage II 120hp injectors
D66 turbo
ITP regulated return
reburn on TS= 25,high idle,60,100,120,140hp
updated ecm (2000 model)
Dyno#'s 360hp and 965 ft lbs trq
460+ is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 06:20 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know if it matters or not but when I start the truck the 4x4 light does light up, so its not burned out. I have not checked the front axel.
walleye guy is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 06:24 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have auto locking hubs that I know don't work. I did have the manual hubs engaged.
walleye guy is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 06:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
farmboypowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
this is hard to explain. go under truck, drivers side, roughly in the middle of the tranny towards the top. towards the engine you'll see wires and a plug connection,make sure it is tight. ifs thats tight checks fuse. or your 4x4 switch
farmboypowerstroke is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 06:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
farmboypowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
what year is your truck
farmboypowerstroke is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 01-09-2008, 06:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
farmboypowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
o never mind i see now
farmboypowerstroke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome