need help with my 2003 7.3 please!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2013, 05:49 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
need help with my 2003 7.3 please!!

My heat recently when so i Got under the hood and messed around with some wires. The ground cable that screws in to the passenger side right to the truck above my heater blower, it look like two wires and they go to what is believe is the intake manifold right in from of the turbo. sorry I'm a newb, well that ground cable broke so anyways when I started my truck to warm it up as it is -30 out, I thought nothing of it and about a half hour later my truck shut off. when I tried to start it again my battery was completely dead, so I jumped it and it started but when I took the cables off I had no dash lights and my wipers didn' t work then my truck shut off and the battery was completely dead again, I'm just wondering if that broken ground cable is the cause because everything was fine before that, I had to leave the truck at work and drive my cross shifts truck back, now I can't sleep because I am 1000km away from anywhere and don't want to think about the tow bill,

Last edited by zeggelaar; 11-19-2013 at 06:50 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-19-2013, 06:21 AM
allergic to hot weather

Send a message via AIM to 95and05 Send a message via MSN to 95and05
From that brief description it sounds to me like alternator issues with weak batteries.
Blower will go out with low power then lights then truck. Charge batteries for a good while then start truck. After truck is running turn on headlights and disconnect positive cable from both batteries... if the truck dies you have no alternator power and this means limited drive time.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Old 11-19-2013, 06:27 AM