new owner, any common issues I can avoid? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2012, 07:46 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
new owner, any common issues I can avoid?

I just purchased an 05 lariat 6.0 with all the bells and whistles except navigation. as far as I know the truck is all stock, it has 136000 miles on it and some change. Any common issues i should watch out for? I have already seen a few posts about EGR issues. should i just knock out an EGR delete now?

I also had a code p1633 that popped up, i cleared it and turned off the MIL with a code scanner.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. I love this truck, and would like to hit half a million miles on it. Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-20-2012, 06:37 AM

I am a fairly competent mechanic, just new to diesel ownership. I been searching around on here and saw a few things about a coolant filter. I also searched for coolant filter and didn't find any good threads that explained it very well. My truck has 137000 miles on it, so hopefully most of the small stuff has been worked out.

I may have started this thread in the wrong section of the forum, its not really a diagnostics thread, more of a preventative measures topic.

The thing I don't understand is why you would need a filter for the engine cooling system, and wouldn't drainin and refilling it at the recommended intervals keep the contaminats down? Where would the contaminants come from? Also some sort of oil cooler upgrade or an egr cooler should be adressed? If anyone can explain this or some of these things I will be grateful. Thx again
Old 07-27-2012, 11:58 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie