Map Sensor Question..... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2012, 07:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Map Sensor Question.....

alright you gurus of the 7.3 here is my story, 2 years ago i bought a 93 diesiel 7.3 non turbo with an automatic. it always seemed to shift a little hard like it had a shift kit in it. I never thought much of it as this was my first disiel, well about 15 months into it the tranny started neutraling when slowing down so parked it and crawled under it to find tranny fluid running out of the breather hole. I knew what this meant the tranny is shot either front seal or torque converter. so had it towed to a tranny shop (no facility to do it myself) and had a new tranny put in to the tune of $3000.00 it included rebuilt tranny with a shift kit and heavy duty everything including torque converter. so cleared all the codes and it seemed fine for a few miles then starged shifting hard like something wrong hard. took it back to the tranny shop and they pulled the codes got a map sensor code wich triggers the torque converter to disingage code. the probelem is that when looking at the map sensor the three wire conector is hooked up however the hose that goes to it is missing. I asume the previouse owner did something to disconect it and now it is causing shofting issues. this brings me to the quetion and the point of this thread. Where does the vacume line from the map sensor go to? I have searched Google and come up with nothing, I have searched the forum and got nothing as well for this particular scenario.



Thanks in advance for the help

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-31-2012, 05:07 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a 97 with a turbo and mine is on the pass. side about mid way on the block,I believe the blocks are the same,I also had a guy tell me that some guys plug the block and use a T and run the hose back to itself on the T, I forget what this was suposed to do by doing it though,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-31-2012, 05:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,036
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The hose should run to the intake, so it can sense the manifold air pressure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors