Oil in the intercooler line? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2012, 07:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oil in the intercooler line?

Hi all, I'm new to diesels so I'd appreciate a little help here. My story is, I replaced the thermostat in my 04 F350 6.0L on Sunday. My wife was so itching to get going I rushed and forgot to tighten a band clamp on the intercooler line that runs under the air filter down by the intercooler itself. (I'm guessing that's the intercooler intake pipe?)

Well today while I was driving with my wife the engine would cut out when the turbo would wind up to a certain point. It seemed to me like a pressure leak somewhere. Knowing my history I figured I forgot to tighten something, and sure enough I found a loose clamp. After I fixed that, no more engine stalling on acceleration.

Here's the weird thing, and my question...
When I took off the intercooler pipe on Sunday I believe it was clean on the inside. When I took it off tonight to inspect the rubber boot I found that there was oil in the pipe. It looked like black engine oil.

My question is, is this normal? I'm guessing that it is not, and that when the turbo spun up, and built boost, then suddenly there was a massive depressurization, the oil that oils the turbo got sucked into the intercooler pipe. Does that seem plausible?

Thanks!
George
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-07-2012, 07:10 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
No, it is crank case vent oil and is normal. Why you didn't see it before I don't know. This oil is eating your intake boots and mixing with EGR soot to coat the inside of your intake manifold. Performing a CCV mod will stop the oil from entering the intake.
Old 02-07-2012, 07:12 PM