Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner
2K views 8 replies 2 participants last post by  Rakkasan187 
#1 · (Edited)
I hope I am posting this in the right place, I am new to PS.org.

I have a 1999 F250 SD with 7.3PS, 373,000 miles was running strong and one day just died. I finally got it started again and it lopes really bad up and down between around 400 and 900 rpm at idle but only for a few seconds then dies. If i press the accelerator pedal to the floor it will rev but max out at around 2000 RPM and blow white smoke like crazy. I have replaced the IDM... twice, UVC harnesses and Gaskets.I took it to ford and they told me my IDM was bad and all injectors needed replaced.I have quite a bit of diesel experience but this has me stumped. I am sure the injectors are a little worn,however i ran a buzz test on auto enginuity and they sounded okay to me. The truck sounds like it is only firing on a few cylinders.I cant run a cylinder contribution test as the truck wont idle long enough without hitting the accelerator which cancells the test. The ICP was reading around 2400 PSI. I don't want to replace the injectors if there is something more serious wrong with the truck. I just dont see that many going bad all at once. it doesnt smoke unless you have your foot to the floor ( if i get it up to 2000 and let off a little it stops smoking).

A little background... It has been really hard to start for a long time ( if it was cold and it wasnt plugged in forget it) and had developed a small miss.

Also when i pulled the codes last night i got 5 P1293,P1294, P1295, P1296, P1298

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!

Thanks

See less See more
#2 ·
when u start it, how many seconds til the oil pressure gauge moves? 3 seconds or quicker is cool. If its like 6 seconds let me know
I would also want to know if you ever replaced the injector Orings?
try idling with the icp sensor unplugged

#6 ·
can you run he key on engine off tests and get any other codes?