A beepin PestTrap - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2007, 02:09 PM
Conservative and Proud


 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A beepin PestTrap

Ok guys, so a few months ago there was this stupid PestTrap problem on my laptop.... haven't upgraded norton (uninstalled it) and then downloaded McAffee for free from Comcast.... got rid of the Pest Trap.... a month later, it pops up again! Got rid of it again, NOW IT'S BACK AGAIN!!!!!!!! AND IT SEEMS WORSE. And now it says it can't be cleaned, deleted or quarantined.

HEEEEEEEELPP!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-31-2007, 09:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Walpole, MA
Posts: 1,296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rufushusky
try

start>control panel>add/remove programs>pick from list, that should be able to blow it away...let me know if you need anymore help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-31-2007, 12:52 PM
RET RET is offline
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 265
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A few thing you'll need to do.
You'll need to download a program called Hijackthis

Re-boot in safe mode
Run Hijackthis and delete these entries
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [PestTrap] C:\Program Files\PestTrap\PestTrap.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Windows installer] C:\winstall.exe

Close Hijackthis and delete the pestrap folder..
Probably found at C:\program files\pestrap

Clear your TEMP JAVA FILES

1. Go to Start > Control Panel double-click on the Java Icon (coffee cup) in the Control Panel.
2. It will say "Java Plug-in" under the icon. Please find the update button or tab in the Java Control Panel. Update your Java then reboot.
3. If you are unable to update you can manually update by going here: Download Java software from Sun Microsystems
4. After the reboot, go back into the Control Panel and double-click the Java Icon.
5. Under Temporary Internet Files, click the Delete Files button.
6. There are three options in the window to clear the cache - Leave ALL 3 Checked
Downloaded Applets
Downloaded Applications
Other Files
7. Click OK on Delete Temporary Files Window
Note: This deletes ALL the Downloaded Applications and Applets from the CACHE.
8. Click OK to leave the Java Control Panel.



Re-boot
RET
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-02-2007, 07:44 AM
Conservative and Proud


 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys!!! Actually this is a new bigger better badder pest! It has a ghost and has been re-creating itself! No anti-stuff can get rid of it.

Right now the laptop is with our IT guy here at work and we are lighting a match to the hard drive (just kidding), but we are completely destroying all files on said drive and starting over. Also installing a different OS, xp is terrible!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:14 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Walpole, MA
Posts: 1,296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rufushusky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banshee34 View Post
Thanks guys!!! Actually this is a new bigger better badder pest! It has a ghost and has been re-creating itself! No anti-stuff can get rid of it.

Right now the laptop is with our IT guy here at work and we are lighting a match to the hard drive (just kidding), but we are completely destroying all files on said drive and starting over. Also installing a different OS, xp is terrible!
What OS are you getting? Vista or are you going hardcore geek and getting some form of Linux?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:35 AM
RET RET is offline
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 265
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banshee34 View Post
Also installing a different OS, xp is terrible!
If you're installing Vista you need at least:

A modern processor (at least 800MHz¹).

512 MB of system memory.

A graphics processor that is DirectX 9 capable.

This is the minimum and can be a little like pulling your camper with a gaser.

RET
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Walpole, MA
Posts: 1,296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rufushusky
Quote:
Originally Posted by RET View Post

This is the minimum and can be a little like pulling your camper with a gaser.
HAHAHA that is a great way of putting it! Yeah that OS is huge and uber graphics heavy, I maybe getting a copy of it soon from my work(I am the systems student slave err...worker) at school.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:14 AM
Conservative and Proud


 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rufushusky View Post
What OS are you getting? Vista or are you going hardcore geek and getting some form of Linux?
We talked about Linux, but we WERE going to install Windows 2K, BUUUUUUUTTTTTTTT....... Something is wrong with the BIOS.... I'll know more in about 10 minutes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Walpole, MA
Posts: 1,296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rufushusky
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banshee34 View Post
We talked about Linux, but we WERE going to install Windows 2K, BUUUUUUUTTTTTTTT....... Something is wrong with the BIOS.... I'll know more in about 10 minutes.
Ok best of luck buddy!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:20 AM
Conservative and Proud


 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rufushusky View Post
Ok best of luck buddy!
the really sucky part is I'm still paying for this laptop!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors