Cant Get product key to work - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:42 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,180
Thanks: 43
Thanked 35 Times in 34 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cant Get product key to work

I have had my laptop for just under a year, and I have used all programs but Microsoft Office. When I started to use it a couple of months ago, it asks for the product key for setup. Well, I looked on the back of the laptop, and found the key, but when I type it it says not valid. I have retyped it and checked to make sure its right, and it still wont work. What can I do? I cannot even use Office now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hadley, Michigan/Lima, Ohio
Posts: 3,071
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to thesmokinstroke02
id say mabye try reinstalling the software? or is it asking for the product key of the software not the laptop?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:47 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Gatos CA
Posts: 733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are you sure the product key on the back of the laptop is for the operating system? The product key for MS Office should be on a disk envelope. (Or try Openoffice.org for free!)

www: OpenOffice.org - The Free and Open Productivity Suite
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:56 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,180
Thanks: 43
Thanked 35 Times in 34 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well, software was pre installed on the computer. so I cant find the envelope or the disc. I didnt have a "box" for my office software.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-18-2008, 03:57 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Gatos CA
Posts: 733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Go with OpenOffice. It really is quite good.,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-18-2008, 04:04 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,180
Thanks: 43
Thanked 35 Times in 34 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
downloading it now. thanks! I am trying to make business cards, and I cant get the template to work without entering my product key.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-19-2008, 06:57 AM
Too cool for school


 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9,889
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via AIM to taylorking Send a message via Yahoo to taylorking
Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC SuperTech View Post
downloading it now. thanks! I am trying to make business cards, and I cant get the template to work without entering my product key.
are you talking about the product key to register the software? or the one to get the template?

some business card paper, such as Avery wil have a product key on them, so that you can enter it in imicrosoft office to get the right template to match the paper.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:09 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,528
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
unless specified that you wanted office on your computer it only comes with a trial version.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-19-2008, 07:45 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
are you running vista??? if so they only give you a trial on office, you have to purchase the key to make it work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-19-2008, 05:15 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,180
Thanks: 43
Thanked 35 Times in 34 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
gotcha! I know why it wont work now. Thanks guys. I didnt purchase the total program. Only the trial.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors