Processors - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2008, 07:22 PM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,023
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Processors

Heres another question....i'm not the most computer savy guy.....

AMD Turion vs. Intel celleron...

Is there a huge difference between these?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-27-2008, 07:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to troid123
I have always thought that intel was a better company but thats just me
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-27-2008, 07:28 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Intel is over rated. I have AMD and never had a problem with it. Plus the price is usually better then Intel. I can get a faster processor from AMD then Intel for a cheaper price.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-27-2008, 07:31 PM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,023
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
^^thats exactly why I asked....the AMD I can get a faster one for cheaper.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-28-2008, 08:33 AM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,023
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Anybody else have any opinions on them?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-28-2008, 09:03 AM
Keep Strokin

 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ft Stewart, Georgia
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There are a lot of things to look at other than the GHZ rating for a processor. For instance an Intel Duo Core 2.3ghz vs. a AMD 3.0ghz, you would think the AMD is faster, well yes it is but no it isn't. A dual core processor is actually 2 processors in one and they are both running at 2.3ghz a regular AMD is running one processor at 3ghz. So if you look at it like this the AMD would be faster only if you were running one application at a time and that is it, not doing anything else. Thr more applications you run (i.e. internet, instant messenger, anti-virus, so on and so on) the better the dual core processor will work. Most intels now are atleast dual core and some even quad core. If it was me I would get the Intel, they may be a little more money but the reliablility is way better than AMD and considering that is one of the major components of a computer don't buy cheap. If you want to save money do it on easy to upgrade stuff like memory (ram), cd drive, hard drive, video card, stuff like that. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-28-2008, 09:05 AM
I am that hot

 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Flemington NJ
Posts: 1,762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to superxcrewfx4 Send a message via Yahoo to superxcrewfx4
AMD, you get way more for your money. I have run amd in my computers for years and they have done well. I have the turion x2 in my hp laptop and its cool.

The only thing with processors is you need to match them with memory. I would say 2 gigs these days is a minimum.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-28-2008, 09:09 AM
Sparkplugs Not Required
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: El Paso, Illinois
Posts: 405
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If all you're doing is surfing the net AMD will be fine. I have one now and have never had a problem. If your into graphic design/drawing/gaming I don't know. +1 for good value........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-28-2008, 09:33 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by International_Harvester View Post
There are a lot of things to look at other than the GHZ rating for a processor. For instance an Intel Duo Core 2.3ghz vs. a AMD 3.0ghz, you would think the AMD is faster, well yes it is but no it isn't. A dual core processor is actually 2 processors in one and they are both running at 2.3ghz a regular AMD is running one processor at 3ghz. So if you look at it like this the AMD would be faster only if you were running one application at a time and that is it, not doing anything else. Thr more applications you run (i.e. internet, instant messenger, anti-virus, so on and so on) the better the dual core processor will work. Most intels now are atleast dual core and some even quad core. If it was me I would get the Intel, they may be a little more money but the reliablility is way better than AMD and considering that is one of the major components of a computer don't buy cheap. If you want to save money do it on easy to upgrade stuff like memory (ram), cd drive, hard drive, video card, stuff like that. Hope this helps
The AMD I have is dual core, and is cheaper then Intel and faster then the intel.

I built my computer 7 years ago. I am on my 5 th upgrade with the same tower. I have replaced the mother board every time and the processor. Being that is really what is outdated on computers anyways. The last time I did this I went with an AMD Dual Core Processor. Every other upgrade I put in new hard drives. Needless to say I have more memory space and a lot more computer then I would ever need.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-28-2008, 09:35 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by superxcrewfx4 View Post
AMD, you get way more for your money. I have run amd in my computers for years and they have done well. I have the turion x2 in my hp laptop and its cool.

The only thing with processors is you need to match them with memory. I would say 2 gigs these days is a minimum.
less your me and you think big is better. I have 4 gig of ram. According to my computer health program. I am using like 23% of my memory.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors