Processors - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 11-27-2008, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Let's go B's!!!!

 
Southpaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Processors

Heres another question....i'm not the most computer savy guy.....

AMD Turion vs. Intel celleron...

Is there a huge difference between these?

Chris

2002 Crew Cab Long Bed
4" BDS, 35x13.50 Cooper STT on 20x10 Black Rockstars, and other stuff.....310,000 miles and counting...
<><
2 Thessalonians 3 v.6-15

Southpaw is offline  
post #2 of 11 Old 11-27-2008, 07:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
troid123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to troid123
I have always thought that intel was a better company but thats just me

2006 F250 CC Short Bed King Ranch 4x4 (109,000 miles)
4" Turbo Back w/ 6" Tip
SCT x3 w/ Custom Tunes From DJ's/Innovative
03 turbo
Eclipse Navigation/DVD/CD/MP3 w/ Rear Camera
Rear DVD/MP3/CD Entertainment System
Escort Passport SR7 Built In Radar Detection System
K & N Cold Air Intake w/ S&B Replacement Filter
Roll-N-Lock Retractable Bed Cover
Nitto Trail Grappler LT295/70R18
***SOLD 10/31/11***

New Truck:
2011 Ford F-150 Limited 6.2L Super Crew
troid123 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 11-27-2008, 07:28 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Intel is over rated. I have AMD and never had a problem with it. Plus the price is usually better then Intel. I can get a faster processor from AMD then Intel for a cheaper price.


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 11-27-2008, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
Let's go B's!!!!

 
Southpaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
^^thats exactly why I asked....the AMD I can get a faster one for cheaper.

Chris

2002 Crew Cab Long Bed
4" BDS, 35x13.50 Cooper STT on 20x10 Black Rockstars, and other stuff.....310,000 miles and counting...
<><
2 Thessalonians 3 v.6-15

Southpaw is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 11-28-2008, 08:33 AM Thread Starter
Let's go B's!!!!

 
Southpaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Anybody else have any opinions on them?

Chris

2002 Crew Cab Long Bed
4" BDS, 35x13.50 Cooper STT on 20x10 Black Rockstars, and other stuff.....310,000 miles and counting...
<><
2 Thessalonians 3 v.6-15

Southpaw is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 11-28-2008, 09:03 AM
Keep Strokin

 
International_Harvester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ft Stewart, Georgia
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There are a lot of things to look at other than the GHZ rating for a processor. For instance an Intel Duo Core 2.3ghz vs. a AMD 3.0ghz, you would think the AMD is faster, well yes it is but no it isn't. A dual core processor is actually 2 processors in one and they are both running at 2.3ghz a regular AMD is running one processor at 3ghz. So if you look at it like this the AMD would be faster only if you were running one application at a time and that is it, not doing anything else. Thr more applications you run (i.e. internet, instant messenger, anti-virus, so on and so on) the better the dual core processor will work. Most intels now are atleast dual core and some even quad core. If it was me I would get the Intel, they may be a little more money but the reliablility is way better than AMD and considering that is one of the major components of a computer don't buy cheap. If you want to save money do it on easy to upgrade stuff like memory (ram), cd drive, hard drive, video card, stuff like that. Hope this helps

ARP HEAD STUDS
EGR DELETE
SCT LIVEWIRE CUSTOM TUNED
STRAIGH PIPE
K&N INTAKE
RECON & PIAA LIGHTS
8in COILOVER LIFT
ROAD ARMOR BUMPERS
38in ATZ Mickey Thomspons


International_Harvester is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 11-28-2008, 09:05 AM
I am that hot

 
superxcrewfx4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Flemington NJ
Posts: 1,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to superxcrewfx4 Send a message via Yahoo to superxcrewfx4
AMD, you get way more for your money. I have run amd in my computers for years and they have done well. I have the turion x2 in my hp laptop and its cool.

The only thing with processors is you need to match them with memory. I would say 2 gigs these days is a minimum.

1999.5 Ford F-250 Powerstroke
7.3 Powerstroke Diesel
4" Turbo Back MBRP with 6" Tip Straight Piped!
DIY Intake
Isspro Gauges
Diesel Site Coolant Filter
TW 6 Position Chip
2.5 Inch Leveling Kit
305/75/16 Mickey Thompson MTZ's
239k and COUNTING!!!

superxcrewfx4 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 11-28-2008, 09:09 AM
Sparkplugs Not Required
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: El Paso, Illinois
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If all you're doing is surfing the net AMD will be fine. I have one now and have never had a problem. If your into graphic design/drawing/gaming I don't know. +1 for good value........

Ed



2005 F-250 4x4 CC LB
ARP Head Studs
4" MBRP Turbo Back Exhaust, no kitty
SCT XCal3 with ID Tunes
Isspro Gauges
Nitto Terra Grapplers 305/70R17
CAT797 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 11-28-2008, 09:33 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by International_Harvester View Post
There are a lot of things to look at other than the GHZ rating for a processor. For instance an Intel Duo Core 2.3ghz vs. a AMD 3.0ghz, you would think the AMD is faster, well yes it is but no it isn't. A dual core processor is actually 2 processors in one and they are both running at 2.3ghz a regular AMD is running one processor at 3ghz. So if you look at it like this the AMD would be faster only if you were running one application at a time and that is it, not doing anything else. Thr more applications you run (i.e. internet, instant messenger, anti-virus, so on and so on) the better the dual core processor will work. Most intels now are atleast dual core and some even quad core. If it was me I would get the Intel, they may be a little more money but the reliablility is way better than AMD and considering that is one of the major components of a computer don't buy cheap. If you want to save money do it on easy to upgrade stuff like memory (ram), cd drive, hard drive, video card, stuff like that. Hope this helps
The AMD I have is dual core, and is cheaper then Intel and faster then the intel.

I built my computer 7 years ago. I am on my 5 th upgrade with the same tower. I have replaced the mother board every time and the processor. Being that is really what is outdated on computers anyways. The last time I did this I went with an AMD Dual Core Processor. Every other upgrade I put in new hard drives. Needless to say I have more memory space and a lot more computer then I would ever need.


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 11-28-2008, 09:35 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by superxcrewfx4 View Post
AMD, you get way more for your money. I have run amd in my computers for years and they have done well. I have the turion x2 in my hp laptop and its cool.

The only thing with processors is you need to match them with memory. I would say 2 gigs these days is a minimum.
less your me and you think big is better. I have 4 gig of ram. According to my computer health program. I am using like 23% of my memory.


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome