Virtually here!!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
Big Daddy!
 
robertcarmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spring/Tomball
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Virtually here!!!!

WOOOOHOOO

I just upgraded the home Desktop because I will be attending online college. So I had a 19" square (not widescreen) LCD, and I bought a 24" widescreen, which is basically the same height as the 19" but ALMOST twice as wide, so I am running them side by side which is almost like having trip 19's ....

Then I decided that I want to run virtual machines since I am sick and tired of spyware\malware\viruses destroying a software build that might take me 8 to 16 hours to do! I got VMWare, but the current machine was a DAWG, it had a dual core 3.0 intel, and 1GB or RAM. I fixed that up in short order! I upgraded it to a quad 2.4ghz, and 8GB of RAM to wash it down with! That means that I took the plunge and got Vista Ultimate 64, and the machine is running JUST happily, and I can feed my Virtual machines 1GB of RAM for operation, and I did upgrade to a 1tb SATAIII drive as well!!!! This thing is SMOKIN!!!!!

I can rebuild a machine in minutes now, instead of days! I am on now from a virtual image of an OS called Backtrack3 which is a Penetration Testers OS build in Slackware!!!

OMG I am SUCH a GEEK !!!!

I guess admitting that you have a problem is the first step in recovery!!!



Quote:
Originally Posted by cchase View Post
Do you know what the hardest part of driving a dodge is? Telling your parents that your gay.
Sold the truck to help pay $1.5M in medical bills! Now I have a F150 6cyl that is slower and gets worse mileage
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
robertcarmel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 04:52 PM
Mob boss

 
Jarrod B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 26,951
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
man that is one bad a$$ system. if ya need any help, let me know. i love the dual monitor setup. but wow, 8gb of ram, vista ult 64x, 2.4ghz quad, 1tb hdd.

what did you do for a video card?

and what was the total cost of that system?

what classes are ya takin?

2006 Ford F250 CCSB FX4 6.0

Sold
1997 F350 CCLB 2WD 7.3
1999 F350 CCLB 4WD 7.3
2003 F350 CCLB FX4 6.0



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



LSP Chapter Director

LSP Group Threads

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jarrod B is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 04:56 PM
Raging Lunatic

 
choctaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Euless, Texas
Posts: 8,803
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertcarmel View Post
WOOOOHOOO

I just upgraded the home Desktop because I will be attending online college. So I had a 19" square (not widescreen) LCD, and I bought a 24" widescreen, which is basically the same height as the 19" but ALMOST twice as wide, so I am running them side by side which is almost like having trip 19's ....

Then I decided that I want to run virtual machines since I am sick and tired of spyware\malware\viruses destroying a software build that might take me 8 to 16 hours to do! I got VMWare, but the current machine was a DAWG, it had a dual core 3.0 intel, and 1GB or RAM. I fixed that up in short order! I upgraded it to a quad 2.4ghz, and 8GB of RAM to wash it down with! That means that I took the plunge and got Vista Ultimate 64, and the machine is running JUST happily, and I can feed my Virtual machines 1GB of RAM for operation, and I did upgrade to a 1tb SATAIII drive as well!!!! This thing is SMOKIN!!!!!

I can rebuild a machine in minutes now, instead of days! I am on now from a virtual image of an OS called Backtrack3 which is a Penetration Testers OS build in Slackware!!!

OMG I am SUCH a GEEK !!!!

I guess admitting that you have a problem is the first step in recovery!!!


What the hell did you just say?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Halito...Sa hohchifo ut Mike
On EARTH as it is in TEXAS
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"Fast Service Guaranteed...No Matter How Long It Takes"
choctaw is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 04:59 PM Thread Starter
Big Daddy!
 
robertcarmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spring/Tomball
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have about 18 years in the IT field. I build quad monitor systems for Refineries, and the whole backbone network that controls the refineries. ....

I am taking Computer Information Systems Security .....

I am not much of a gamer, so I just used the card that came on the board. It is a ATI
3200HD. It has VGA/DVI/HDMI

I ACTUALLY bought Vista 64 so that was $220, and I have about $700 in the system, but I will sell the old MB and get probably $100.00 or so out of it. It is still a kicking system for someone that isn't a SPEED FREEK!!!! .....

Quote:
Originally Posted by cchase View Post
Do you know what the hardest part of driving a dodge is? Telling your parents that your gay.
Sold the truck to help pay $1.5M in medical bills! Now I have a F150 6cyl that is slower and gets worse mileage
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
robertcarmel is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 05:01 PM Thread Starter
Big Daddy!
 
robertcarmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spring/Tomball
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by choctaw View Post
What the hell did you just say?
Lemme translate that into REDNECK for you.

It's so fast that when you hit the enter button the clock spins backerds!!!! ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cchase View Post
Do you know what the hardest part of driving a dodge is? Telling your parents that your gay.
Sold the truck to help pay $1.5M in medical bills! Now I have a F150 6cyl that is slower and gets worse mileage
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
robertcarmel is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 05:03 PM
Raging Lunatic

 
choctaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Euless, Texas
Posts: 8,803
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertcarmel View Post
Lemme translate that into REDNECK for you.

It's so fast that when you hit the enter button the clock spins backerds!!!! ...
Oh OK, now I understand.

I built my own computer several years ago and now it's running slow. Any tips on how to speed her up?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Halito...Sa hohchifo ut Mike
On EARTH as it is in TEXAS
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"Fast Service Guaranteed...No Matter How Long It Takes"
choctaw is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 05:06 PM Thread Starter
Big Daddy!
 
robertcarmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spring/Tomball
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you built it several years ago the best way to speed it up is to start over..... ...

Other than that RAM is cheap, so max it out! Consider rebuilding the Operating system if it hasn't had that done in the last couple years. Spyware is a KILLER! ****Make sure you know how to re-install an OS before trying this though.

Sometimes is it cheaper to just get a new one ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by cchase View Post
Do you know what the hardest part of driving a dodge is? Telling your parents that your gay.
Sold the truck to help pay $1.5M in medical bills! Now I have a F150 6cyl that is slower and gets worse mileage
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by robertcarmel; 10-10-2008 at 05:12 PM.
robertcarmel is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 05:23 PM
Mob boss

 
Jarrod B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 26,951
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertcarmel View Post
I have about 18 years in the IT field. I build quad monitor systems for Refineries, and the whole backbone network that controls the refineries. ....

I am taking Computer Information Systems Security .....

I am not much of a gamer, so I just used the card that came on the board. It is a ATI
3200HD. It has VGA/DVI/HDMI

I ACTUALLY bought Vista 64 so that was $220, and I have about $700 in the system, but I will sell the old MB and get probably $100.00 or so out of it. It is still a kicking system for someone that isn't a SPEED FREEK!!!! .....

a fellow IT guy. Im still in college for that degree. But im doin the CIS without the security part.

plus a certificate in Cisco. heheh

im a invidia guy. dont care for ati

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertcarmel View Post
Lemme translate that into REDNECK for you.

It's so fast that when you hit the enter button the clock spins backerds!!!! ...


or its so fast that the screen actually does something for a change


Quote:
Originally Posted by choctaw View Post
Oh OK, now I understand.

I built my own computer several years ago and now it's running slow. Any tips on how to speed her up?
buy a new computer or build a new rig. if ya buy, go with dell. or hp.

the components has changed so much that the parts are getting harder to find and some what cheaper in some cases.

2006 Ford F250 CCSB FX4 6.0

Sold
1997 F350 CCLB 2WD 7.3
1999 F350 CCLB 4WD 7.3
2003 F350 CCLB FX4 6.0



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



LSP Chapter Director

LSP Group Threads

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jarrod B is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
Big Daddy!
 
robertcarmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spring/Tomball
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bockhold View Post
a fellow IT guy. Im still in college for that degree. But im doin the CIS without the security part.

plus a certificate in Cisco. heheh

im a invidia guy. dont care for ati





or its so fast that the screen actually does something for a change




buy a new computer or build a new rig. if ya buy, go with dell. or hp.

the components has changed so much that the parts are getting harder to find and some what cheaper in some cases.
I agree I just bought my wife a Notebook for skool this year, and it is a dual AMD 320GB with 4GB RAM it was an HP and it was only $750.00 NEW at Office Depot!!! The BEST price I found ANYWAHERE for a comparable machine...

I have a CCNA, and MCP, get the CERTS then get the experience, THEN get the degree! ..... The Certs will make you more money!!! ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by cchase View Post
Do you know what the hardest part of driving a dodge is? Telling your parents that your gay.
Sold the truck to help pay $1.5M in medical bills! Now I have a F150 6cyl that is slower and gets worse mileage
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
robertcarmel is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 10-10-2008, 05:48 PM
Mob boss

 
Jarrod B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 26,951
Thanks: 25
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertcarmel View Post
I agree I just bought my wife a Notebook for skool this year, and it is a dual AMD 320GB with 4GB RAM it was an HP and it was only $750.00 NEW at Office Depot!!! The BEST price I found ANYWAHERE for a comparable machine...

I have a CCNA, and MCP, get the CERTS then get the experience, THEN get the degree! ..... The Certs will make you more money!!! ....
good price for the laptop

im been kinda doin it backwards... classes and work for that field while in school. but no certs

i should have by now is the mcdst, mcp, and a+. just havent taken the time to drive to dallas or longview to take the test.

2006 Ford F250 CCSB FX4 6.0

Sold
1997 F350 CCLB 2WD 7.3
1999 F350 CCLB 4WD 7.3
2003 F350 CCLB FX4 6.0



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



LSP Chapter Director

LSP Group Threads

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jarrod B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome