My Setup! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:03 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Thee Big Apple
Posts: 381
Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My Setup!

Well I am a computer genius and wanted to post my set up. Tell me what you think! An feel free to post yours!

PC Specs:
Alienware M11x
Intel I7 3.2ghz
Nvidia GTX 760M
8GB Ram

Setup:
Viewsonic and Toshiba dual monitors
Mulitmedia backlite keyboard
Xornet Gaming mouse
CA Sound System 5.1 with sub
Xbox 360S Halo Reach Edition
60" Samsung Flatscreen
Droid DNA
iPhone 4
Turtle Beach MW3 Ear Force Foxtrot
LED Kit with like 20 different colors under my desk for lighting

Internet:
Fios Quantium 50/25 Mbs

Current Setup


Older Setup (I only added the dual monitor)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-20-2013, 10:45 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,865
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I think I have you beat. Pic is a bit outdated.

Primary workstation is a hex core i7, 24GB RAM, 240GB Intel 530 SSD
Primary server is a dual quad core 5400 Xeon, 56GB RAM, 55TB mixed SSD, 15k RPM and 7200RPM hard drives
Secondary server is a dual quad core 5600 Xeon, 24GB RAM and 6 Velociraptors

I need to take a new pic of the monitors but it's 6 LG 23" LED LCD's

Internet is just 50/5 Timewarner till Google gets around to rolling out the fiber they promissed a few months ago.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-21-2013, 12:43 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Thee Big Apple
Posts: 381
Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well you have servers. I don't have any use for them haha. I also forgot to mention my SSD which is also a 530 then a external 500GB HDD.

I could also have a ton of monitors but I needed a Laptop as a desktop is useless to me.

I also know a kid who has like 4 monitors I believe and uses one of them for just a clock lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-21-2013, 12:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sedro Woolley, Wa
Posts: 248
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchuricht View Post
I think I have you beat. Pic is a bit outdated.

Primary workstation is a hex core i7, 24GB RAM, 240GB Intel 530 SSD
Primary server is a dual quad core 5400 Xeon, 56GB RAM, 55TB mixed SSD, 15k RPM and 7200RPM hard drives
Secondary server is a dual quad core 5600 Xeon, 24GB RAM and 6 Velociraptors

I need to take a new pic of the monitors but it's 6 LG 23" LED LCD's

Internet is just 50/5 Timewarner till Google gets around to rolling out the fiber they promissed a few months ago.

So what is the need for the servers?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-21-2013, 07:43 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,865
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked6.0 View Post
So what is the need for the servers?
Just a hobby like the trucks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-21-2013, 08:53 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nice! You'd laugh if you saw my setup. I have to fight with the kids to get any time on the computer. You've got awesome setups!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-22-2013, 12:15 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Thee Big Apple
Posts: 381
Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluerivet View Post
Nice! You'd laugh if you saw my setup. I have to fight with the kids to get any time on the computer. You've got awesome setups!
Damn haha I have pc's laying all over the place in closets. Desks just about anywhere lol.

An any setup is worth a view even if its a laptop on a bed lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-14-2013, 06:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 168
Thanks: 8
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchuricht View Post
I think I have you beat. Pic is a bit outdated.

Primary workstation is a hex core i7, 24GB RAM, 240GB Intel 530 SSD
Primary server is a dual quad core 5400 Xeon, 56GB RAM, 55TB mixed SSD, 15k RPM and 7200RPM hard drives
Secondary server is a dual quad core 5600 Xeon, 24GB RAM and 6 Velociraptors

I need to take a new pic of the monitors but it's 6 LG 23" LED LCD's

Internet is just 50/5 Timewarner till Google gets around to rolling out the fiber they promissed a few months ago.
I am so ridiculously jealous, you have no idea. I almost bought a bunch of cisco business class routers and set up a Domain controller between my house and about 5 other relative's, just to say I did. But...money...you know...

I use a somewhat modest rig:

AMD FX8150 8 Cores - OC'ed to 4.4-ish ghz
ASUS M5A97 EVO Board (970 chipset)
AMD Radeon 6600HD (I don't do any gaming)
2TB Seagate drive (Adding an SSD soon)
Corsair Vengeance 8gb DDR3-1600
Two ASUS 22" monitors (DVI & VGA)
Corsair H100i Dual 120mm cooling system
NZXT Hue led light strip (to make it look purty)

I don't use it for much, but it dang well does the trick, in style too.

Inside, LED lit

Picture of the case
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-14-2013, 07:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Who needs dual monitors... At home I have a 42" monitor. I ran out of real estate on my desk for the second 21" monitor. That used to be my research set-up.

Excuse the mess
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-14-2013, 07:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 168
Thanks: 8
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommycat View Post
Who needs dual monitors... At home I have a 42" monitor. I ran out of real estate on my desk for the second 21" monitor. That used to be my research set-up.

Excuse the mess
I chose dual monitors because I prefer having a decent amount of screen width, so I can span four windows across comfortably, as opposed to having four very tall and narrow windows in one monitor, no matter how big the monitor is. Also, It's more comfortable. If I had a 42" monitor, It would be annoying to have it a foot and a half from my face.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors