Need Windows 7 help.....before I shoot my laptop. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2013, 04:26 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Monroe, Georgia
Posts: 3,848
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Need Windows 7 help.....before I shoot my laptop.

Alright computer geeks, I need your help.

I've got an Asus laptop that has been a flawless machine. The hard drive crashed/died/quit. I thought it may have been something simple so we dropped it off at a shop that has done reasonable work for us before. The guy came in over budget and behind schedule but that's another story. My problem is that randomly it will select by itself. What I mean is, if the cursor is parked somewhere the machine hits enter by itself. I know I am using basic terms but that is how computer illiterate I am. It is very difficult to do anything with it because just moving the cursor out of your way to read will result in the entire screen changing. Like I said, it is very random but I have experimented with parking the cursor on something and removing my hands from the keyboard/mouse area and it has changed.

Now, both of the kids have laptops that are newer than mine and both of them do this same thing. I feel that it is either a setting that is deeper than control panel/mouse/etc OR it is a Windows 7 thing. Either way, this thing is a paper weight now.

Any suggestions?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-18-2013, 05:06 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Monroe, Georgia
Posts: 3,848
Thanks: 1
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I think I may have found it. Under properties and in the Taskbar and Start Menu Properties, Customize I unchecked "open submenus when I pause on them with the mouse pointer".

We'll see how this works.......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-19-2013, 03:19 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
google asus touchpad driver. download updated drivers. Do the same for the other computers, using whatever brand they are. Under the control panel and mouse there should be touchpad settings that you can adjust after you update the drivers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors