IT Guys\Girls.. Why you should never have a electrician do any cabling. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:26 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
IT Guys\Girls.. Why you should never have a electrician do any cabling.

New building at work, 5 floors.. all closets are the same.

We did a walk through today and found this gem..

Clicky for big.







I guess he thought the wire management was for decoration only. Looks like someone will be pulling and repatching soon.

As a bonus for viewing my rant, here are a few pics of the "snow storm" moving into the area from the 6th floor helo pad.

Holy crap was it cold and windy..





Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-03-2008, 12:42 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
What's the problem........ do you really need to know where the cables go???? hahaha j/k
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:01 PM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,061
Thanks: 13
Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
I'm hoping that at least they were labeled... Otherwise, they'll have to tone them out as well!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I like purple. Whats your beef?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:05 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Personally, I don't care if they have to tone them out. It should have been done right the first time. The company has come back and said that they are punched down to code.

I'd like the know WHAT code. There isn't a city code... it's low voltage. the only standard that I follow is ETL.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:08 PM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,061
Thanks: 13
Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Actually, that's why its so funny; since it will have to be done on their dime...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:09 PM
Big Daddy!
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spring/Tomball
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk0 View Post

I guess he thought the wire management was for decoration only. Looks like someone will be pulling and repatching soon.
The word Cable MISMANGEMENT comes to mind. I did a better job than that for my house man, and I am NO WHERE near a cable person!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrJohnWayne View Post
What's the problem........ do you really need to know where the cables go???? hahaha j/k
Most of us Network Engineer type prefer the lottery method.... Patch someone, and then GUESS where it ends up going

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Eye View Post
I'm hoping that at least they were labeled... Otherwise, they'll have to tone them out as well!
They were all labled, but he cut the part with the lable off when he terminated them ...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-03-2008, 04:16 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertcarmel View Post
The word Cable MISMANGEMENT comes to mind. I did a better job than that for my house man, and I am NO WHERE near a cable person!!!



Most of us Network Engineer type prefer the lottery method.... Patch someone, and then GUESS where it ends up going



They were all labled, but he cut the part with the lable off when he terminated them ...

FUBAR is how it's being described.

When my wife and I built our house in 2004, I ran CAT6e to a minimum of 2 drops per room, CAT 5e terminated to a block 66 using the unused pair, and RJ6 quad to each drop. It all goes back the a network panel in the utility room. Routing/switching is tunneled back to my office, all layer 3. Network traffic on the server is isolated to its own vLAN, Cisco 1231a/g handles the wireless on its own vLAN, and generic DHCP is again separated.

If I'm like this at home, guess how I am at work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-04-2008, 03:42 AM
Is it even worth it???



 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lex KY
Posts: 9,093
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ABOBB Send a message via Yahoo to ABOBB
Ummm.. can I ask a question??

What language are you guys speaking?? I don't understand a bit of it!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-04-2008, 03:58 AM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,845
Thanks: 7
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABOBB View Post
Ummm.. can I ask a question??

What language are you guys speaking?? I don't understand a bit of it!!!
My kinda language.


Oh and if you saw some of my wiring closets in one of our buildings you'd crap. Our office moves people around CONSTANTLY so there is always someone from my team, or the few I allow to have closet keys on the desk side group patching cables. Too many hands in the pot and it's a friggin mess in a lot of them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors