Need help with Hard drive - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 02:34 PM Thread Starter
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Need help with Hard drive

Hey I bought a new hard drive for my computer. I need some help installing it.

It is a Western Digital 160gb 7200 rpm. Can some one help me I can not get my computer to reckongize this harddrive I am using it for a back up drive. As in I am going to save everything on my primary drive to this drive. Then if my computer crashes I can reformat the orginal harddrive and reload everything off the secondary harddrive. But I need some help setting it up.


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #2 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 02:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dereku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lockport IL
Posts: 4,295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dereku
well if it doesnt reconizes it, it may not be set as a slave. Check the jumper settings on the hard drive and make sure it is the slave. also not to sound dumb make sure both cables are plugged into it, i.e. the data cable and the power cable
dereku is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 02:42 PM
Strokin' In Dixie-Land
 
Big AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy, Alabama
Posts: 2,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
BC. I have one of them (mine is a 120gb). 1st, you must use the short USB cord that came with it. 2nd, It must be plugged into one of the computer USB ports - not to a multi-hub. Did yours come with an optional power supply (probably not)?

:burnout :burnout :burnout



2005 XLT 4x4 Crew Cab 6.0. Torqshift Auto. Arizona Beige.
Mods - 4" FBD Turbo-Back Exhaust with Free-flow Muffler. Power Intake Elbow from Dfuser. Bug Shield. Vent Shades. Aries Step Bars. Custom heavy-duty floor mats. High Idle Mod (great!).
Big AL is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 02:43 PM Thread Starter
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big AL View Post
BC. I have one of them (mine is a 120gb). 1st, you must use the short USB cord that came with it. 2nd, It must be plugged into one of the computer USB ports - not to a multi-hub. Did yours come with an optional power supply (probably not)?
It is an internal harddrive Big al, it does not have usb


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 02:46 PM
Strokin' In Dixie-Land
 
Big AL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Troy, Alabama
Posts: 2,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry about that. I have a WD Passport portable HD. I was on the wrong track. Let me back off. Somebody will get you going.

:burnout :burnout :burnout



2005 XLT 4x4 Crew Cab 6.0. Torqshift Auto. Arizona Beige.
Mods - 4" FBD Turbo-Back Exhaust with Free-flow Muffler. Power Intake Elbow from Dfuser. Bug Shield. Vent Shades. Aries Step Bars. Custom heavy-duty floor mats. High Idle Mod (great!).
Big AL is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 02:47 PM Thread Starter
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by dereku View Post
well if it doesnt reconizes it, it may not be set as a slave. Check the jumper settings on the hard drive and make sure it is the slave. also not to sound dumb make sure both cables are plugged into it, i.e. the data cable and the power cable

The jumper setting is just like the old one I am replacing I have it set up and the hard drive is running and everything is plugged in. Just the computer is not reckonizing the hard drive. Could it be the fact that it is the same hard drive as my primary one.


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 02:47 PM Thread Starter
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big AL View Post
Sorry about that. I have a WD Passport portable HD. I was on the wrong track. Let me back off. Somebody will get you going.
No big deal buddy.


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 03:09 PM
Slacker



 
Evil Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 18,197
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Thanks: 16
Thanked 190 Times in 163 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcountrysg View Post
The jumper setting is just like the old one I am replacing I have it set up and the hard drive is running and everything is plugged in. Just the computer is not reckonizing the hard drive. Could it be the fact that it is the same hard drive as my primary one.
BC, Your original hard drive jumpers should be set to master and the new one should be set to slave. You may also have to go into the BIOS and enable the secondary IDE channel before it will recognize the drive. If this doesn't work, you might try putting the jumpers as cable select, but this rarely works and I only ever use it when hard setting the jumpers doesn't work. Hope this helps.

Shawn Carlson
EvilEye@powerstroke.org

Proud Navy Vet
2005 F250, CCSB, 6.0 PSD, FX4 (The Sweet Unit is white)
2008 F350, CCLB, 6.4 PSD (Brad-the wife's truck is black)




Engine Mods:
Fluidampr
CCV Reroute (Reinstated)
4" MBRP Exhaust
MTW Stage 1 Turbo
Bulletproof 53V FICM
BulletProof EGR Cooler
BulletProof Water Pump
Riff Raff Intercooler Boots
Gogo Diesel Direct Drive Solenoid
BulletProof All-Aluminum Radiator
BulletProof All-Aluminum Intercooler
BulletProof Oil Cooler System w/ Bypass Filter
SCT w/ Custom Tunes (TSD, DJ's, Innovative, Gearhead, QuickTricks)

Exterior Mods:
Bilstein 5100 Shocks
Icon Adjustable Trac Bar
Firestone RideRite Air Bags
BDS Dual Steering Stabilizer
Aluminum Finned Differential Cover
Reese 16k Manual Slider 5th Wheel Hitch
Icon 2.5" Leveling Kit w/ F-350 rear blocks
20" BMF Novakanes wrapped in 33" Nitto Terra Grapplers
Evil Eye is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 03:13 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
strokermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: GREAT LAKES,IL
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i would just take it back and buy a protable harddrive for my back up source. that way when you go over to friends and family you can just plug and play with the hard drive. just my 2 cents. sorry scott i can't help you. i am sure we have some computer guys on here.

CB Radio- General Lee
7.3l 99 f-250 SD
4 INCH TURBO BACK TO 6 INCH MITER CUT STACKS CURIOSTY OF GRAND ROCK AND COWBOY DIESEL PERFORMANCE.
TS 6 POSTION CHIP. stock,high idle,50,75,100,140hp.
strokermann is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 07-22-2007, 06:54 PM
Rob
Super Moderator



 
Rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
i added a hard drive to my computer, when i did i made sure i unplugged the old one, then the plug that came out of the old one went into the new one, then the old hard drive was plugged in with the slave end of the cable. if you look on the cable that goes into the hard drive and system board it will tell you which end is slave, master, and system board end. plug each connecter to the respective drive and it should recognize it then. if not then insert the cd and install the hardware.

Rob, The Investigator!
Audentes Fortuna Juvat
(Fortune Favors The Bold)
Rwalker@Powerstroke.Org
The Org. Staff reserves the right to
move, modify, delete or merge threads/posts
at our discretion, without explanation
at any time.

Rob is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome