wireless router help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:23 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wireless router help

I am computer ignorant, and need some help...

I need to install my Linksys WRT54GL router. I have internet service through Time Warner Cable...DSL... I have no CD or instructions for the wireless router. I dont know which order to connect the earthnet wires....into the cable modem, to the wireless router, to the computer....?????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-29-2010, 05:11 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
To connect your cable Modem to your router, just use Cat 5 cable and plug it into the large port (RJ-45) on the back of your modem, most say (WAN) if not it looks like an oversized phone plug. Now connect the other end to the router; if you look on the back you will see a series of RJ-45 connections. The one you are looking for will be labled (WAN), plug it in there. Believe it or not, that's how you connect you router to your modem. Now for your computer to work, either your will need to physically connect it to the router by using Cat 5 cable or you can go wireless. If wireless the computer will have to have a wireless ethernet adapter card.
try this link, it will help, How to connect a cable modem to a wireless router | eHow.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-29-2010, 05:39 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks. On the router, there are 4 hacks, and 1 off by itself that says internet... is this the WAN port?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-29-2010, 05:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tampa Bay area
Posts: 727
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to A8050266 Send a message via MSN to A8050266 Send a message via Yahoo to A8050266
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHUCK View Post
thanks. On the router, there are 4 hacks, and 1 off by itself that says internet... is this the WAN port?
Yes, the one all by it self is the one that goes to the Internet/ Time warner router. The other 4 go to any pcs you may have
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-29-2010, 05:49 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
on the back of the cable modem, I have only 1 port for the earthnet cable....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-29-2010, 05:56 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok, cable modem to the wireless router, router (1 of the 4 ports) to the pc..... bbl
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:00 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tampa Bay area
Posts: 727
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to A8050266 Send a message via MSN to A8050266 Send a message via Yahoo to A8050266
On the cable modem, The single port Goes to >>> On the Router, The port thats all by it self
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-29-2010, 07:57 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok, it aint working.

How it is now...
I have the cable plugged into the cable modem. Then I have an earthnet cable plugged into the cable modem to the pc.

If I connect to the wireless router, from the cable modem (earthnet cable). Then from the wireless router to the computer (earthnet cable), I get nothing. Says I dont have a cable plugged in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-29-2010, 08:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
cable to modem
modem to router
router to computer

If using wireless method, and you have a bluetooth card or your computer is pre-loaded with bluetooth, just turn on...........

If it doesn't work, make sure modem is ON
Make sure router is ON

Still not working? Unplug both router and modem for 30 seconds. Then, plug-in modem,,,,,then plug in router. Wait for the lights to settle down and stop blinking.

Go to computer and look for a cable or bluetooth icon in the tool tray and open it, it will tell you to connect........Do it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-29-2010, 08:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If all else fails, call your cable company and they will walk you through it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors