If you had $900 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Computer Geeks Gaming, Servers, Code, everything computer...

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Silverton, OR
Posts: 2,492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
If you had $900

And you wanted a laptop....what would you get and how would you spec it out.

I'm needing a new one, as my current laptops hinge is all screwy so I cant close it.

I'm wanting something in the 15" size, as I need to take it to classes. Obviously I want the fastest computer I can get. Also I'm pretty computer illiterate, I mean I know some stuff but not as much as some of you guys.

Also, nothing Mac, I hate Mac .

So what would you guys get if you were in my shoes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:41 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,361
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Silverton, OR
Posts: 2,492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrod B View Post
YES!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:48 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,361
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
ill just say that the dell 14" i have was a hair under or was right at 900.

but the starting price was 350ish

Last edited by Jarrod B; 06-21-2010 at 10:54 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-21-2010, 10:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio TX ..
Posts: 2,512
Thanks: 24
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I paid 980$ for my 17" 4G ram 500 G hd Dell I'm on now and love it !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-21-2010, 11:08 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: alabamer
Posts: 1,078
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to harley1rocker Send a message via Skype™ to harley1rocker
hey

take that 900 and upgrade your fuel,then hpop,then injectors,ohh wait chip first,i guess thats opinion,then arp stuff then a turbo,dont listen to me,i tried shootin up diesel fuel
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-21-2010, 11:11 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,361
Thanks: 8
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
hes already stud the heads, added a turbo, cant have a chip on a idi also. no hpop as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-21-2010, 11:15 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: alabamer
Posts: 1,078
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to harley1rocker Send a message via Skype™ to harley1rocker
i also added some rotella 15w40 to my fix! lol! i got one of those new gateway com's and it wasnt too bad,17.3 screen 4gb 500mb 800 buck with 3yr warrenty as well.i love it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-21-2010, 11:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Silverton, OR
Posts: 2,492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yup would be kinda hard to do that stuff considering I have and IDI and I have alrady done the easier mods. Harder ones require the engine to come out.

Jarrod you remember what all I can do to help out my current laptop? If so I give ya the task of pricing that crap out for me. I would like more ram, a screen and what not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-21-2010, 11:23 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: alabamer
Posts: 1,078
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to harley1rocker Send a message via Skype™ to harley1rocker
hey,im just curious.did you do that turbo yourself??? im only privy to the 95 7.3 and do kno a lil bout later models,but nothing on the 6.9, it may be a stupid question,but here goes....the 6.9 85 came with a turbo??? or did you mod it to make it fit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors