HELP! Electric Trailer Brake Issue - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Camping/RV's Discuss camping, RV equipment and locations.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 06:06 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
HELP! Electric Trailer Brake Issue

I just purchased a 1993 Featherlite 30' Car Trailer with two 7k axles and I have no brakes and my Prodigy Controller shows no connection (n.c.). So far, I have used a test light and found power when manually engaging the controller at the tongue and at each axle of the trailer. I even went a little bit further and hooked up a marine battery directly to the trailer brake wire and ground at the tongue, checked for power at axles, and no stopping power at all. Is it possible that all (4) brakes are fried at the same time or is there a common thing I am missing?

Of course the previous owner claims the brakes worked fine.
mhazelton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 06:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
choupique108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 3,398
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if you use the battery and make them lock up you should be able to go to the tires and hear the magnets on the brakes humming

1997 Single Cab Dually, S366 w/ Irate mount and plenums, EFuel, Intercooler, P.I.S 175/80s, Corbeau seats w 08 console, 19.5s, 6637, Black Interior with swede headliner and visors, Custom badges, Flight Fab Traction Bars.
choupique108 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 06:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
2000 7.3 6speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marysville, ohio
Posts: 682
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would just pull the hub off and check every thing out.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2000 7.3 6speed is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Battery hooked up, but did not hear any humming.

Looks like I am pulling all the hubs, I will post with findings.

Anyone else experience this problem... I have with one or two hubs at a time, but never with all four and never with n.c. on my controller display.
mhazelton is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 06:23 PM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 
Ryan Rønning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wasilla, AK
Posts: 20,735
Thanks: 10
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Wow, I figured it would be a truck problem. At least look for a messed up wire before pulling hubs. It extreamly unlikly that all four brakes went out!

Project Frankenstein



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
1997 Ford F-350, Dually conversion, Cobra 29 LX CB, 12000 watt converter, All LED lights, TW tunes, 4" DP, Napa Intake, coolant filter, 140cc Injectors and lots of running lights.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XPLOSIV View Post
Thanks. I'll give er a good wackin in the morning.
Ryan Rønning is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am not sure if it is as simple as a messed up wire, I really, really wish it could be. What makes me think it is in the hubs is that there is power to each hub with a direct battery hook up and the tester connected directly to hot and ground each time.

The only thing I think I can do short of pulling hubs is to check for resistance at each brake wire.

I am just flat out of ideas on this one, reason why I came here for help. I really appreciate the responses. Hopefully some one out there has gone through what I am now.
mhazelton is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 06:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
97 golden stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 781
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dont think that you have a problem behind the hub do to the fact that the brake controler dont pick it up. if it were me i would follow the brake wire you plug into the truck and find the box then look for problems. if nothing wrong then i would pull the plug apart the make sure the wire did not get cut.

97
afe intake
ats intercooler
3in. down pipe to 4in str8
fpr shim
terminator hpop
warm up valve delete
tw 6 position
southbend clutch
Stage ones from Rosewood diesel
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SD IDM
d66
12000k hid dual element
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

thinking real hard about a nozzle upgrade




220k
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
97 golden stroker is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 06:53 PM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 
Ryan Rønning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wasilla, AK
Posts: 20,735
Thanks: 10
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhazelton View Post
I am not sure if it is as simple as a messed up wire, I really, really wish it could be. What makes me think it is in the hubs is that there is power to each hub with a direct battery hook up and the tester connected directly to hot and ground each time.

The only thing I think I can do short of pulling hubs is to check for resistance at each brake wire.

I am just flat out of ideas on this one, reason why I came here for help. I really appreciate the responses. Hopefully some one out there has gone through what I am now.
Wish I could help better but I have experienced nothing like this!

Project Frankenstein



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
1997 Ford F-350, Dually conversion, Cobra 29 LX CB, 12000 watt converter, All LED lights, TW tunes, 4" DP, Napa Intake, coolant filter, 140cc Injectors and lots of running lights.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XPLOSIV View Post
Thanks. I'll give er a good wackin in the morning.
Ryan Rønning is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 06:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
2000 7.3 6speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marysville, ohio
Posts: 682
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
On my trailer 6 of my 8 breaks stopped working and i pulled the hubs and there was a plastic connector that the wires pass through to get to the magnet and some how the wires just broke off


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2000 7.3 6speed is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 07-04-2009, 07:00 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97 golden stroker View Post
I dont think that you have a problem behind the hub do to the fact that the brake controler dont pick it up. if it were me i would follow the brake wire you plug into the truck and find the box then look for problems. if nothing wrong then i would pull the plug apart the make sure the wire did not get cut.
The controller adn truck wiring are fine. I hooked up to a different trailer I have and it works fine. I did take apart the connector on the 93 trailer i just purchased and rewired/clean connections to rule out connector issues.
mhazelton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome