broke hood latch cable - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2009, 09:11 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
broke hood latch cable

title says it all...broke right at the handle...so now wtf do i do???? i mean is there an alternate way to get under the hood if it happens to latch the rest of the way. ill explain what happened. i had to jump my truck due to extreme cold and sh!tty batteries. pull latch, hood pops, open hood, get batts done, start truck unhook everything...close hood.....close...hood...nope....just wouldnt stay down. must be a ford thing because my mustang did the same thing. starting to regret buying a ford after little things like this. so question is....what do i do for a temp fix and how do i get the permanent fix??? i cant imagine this question comes up too often but this kind of needs to be answered very very fast as my hood isnt fully latched and that means i cant drive anywheres over like 30 mph safely. i can take a pic and show exactly what the issue is tomorrow if need be. thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-08-2009, 09:15 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,488
Thanks: 15
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
it doesnt lock??

i wouldnt think thats a cable prob. the lock doesnt rely on the cable to lock down i think. but is required to release it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-08-2009, 09:19 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
right...but when the cable doesnt go back to .."neutral(i guess you would say)"....then thats when the hood wont lock down...the cable is still in the release position...at least until it warms up a bit and it might go back but then i wont be able to open the hood....i cant FU@&*&^ say how much i hate winter and cold in general
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-09-2009, 08:04 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
anyone.....PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!. this is kind of an emergency situation....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-09-2009, 08:14 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,377
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
zip tie or rope that crap to your grill or bumper and go

look at the latch on the truck try to wiggle it...if its frozen stick a hair dryer on it...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-09-2009, 11:46 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
its not just that...does anyone know how to open the hood without the release cable should i close it??????? and is there a temp fix for the cable
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-09-2009, 11:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 6,505
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
never had this problem. Sounds like the cable needs to be replaced but I don't have a temp fix for it unless you can somehow get some graphite lube in there??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-10-2009, 03:50 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so am i being silly in asking for a temp fix or a way to open my hood without the cable???? because this is somewhat rediculous...whats the point of a help forum, if theres no help to be had???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-10-2009, 03:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Far From Bieber
Posts: 2,069
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Maybe I missed it but why don't you just buy a new cable? The forum is usually pretty helpful and has some good guys on here...be careful before you say something you'll regret.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors