Brake Switch Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2009, 05:36 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Brake Switch Question

Here's the issue I have. My TC unlocks and locks going down the road. At first I though it was my multifunction switch but then this morning brake lights/turn signals wouldn't work but lights were bright. I though I had a bad bulb but when I got home the worked . I then stepped on the brakes and everthing stopped working. I guessing a bad brake switch at pedal instead of a short somewhere. Am I right

Last edited by They call me Pete; 01-05-2009 at 07:47 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-05-2009, 07:52 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK after further searching I have ruled out brake switch. I'm starting to think it's the multifunction switch(wipers,turn signal). Turn signals work fine until I step on brake or put headlight on. Then they don't blink. I don't know how they tie into one another but it they must somehow. HEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPP!!!!!! I hate electrical problems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-05-2009, 08:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: IN
Posts: 1,855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
got me
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-05-2009, 01:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 116
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well problem is solved. It turned out to be a old trailer plug I cut out and when I cut it with the dykes it mashed the wires together and they were shorting out one another. I used the "ask a Ford mechanic now" at the top of the page. Problem fixed for $15!! He also gave me a trouble shooting page to test my multi-function switch . Used my ohm meter to test it and it was fine
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-15-2009, 08:19 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can YOu post the trouble shooting page
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors