Waste motor oil and Diesel fuel blend - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Bio-Diesel/Alternative Fuels and Supplements Bio-Diesel and related Discussion. Ask Questions and discuss what has worked for you here.

4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 141 Old 06-09-2008, 01:23 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Waste motor oil and Diesel fuel blend

I have started using a 50/50 blend of waste motor oil and diesel fuel in my 95 powerstroke. Filtered through a 10 micron primary filter and then a 2 micron filter before pumping into the tank. I only have about 300 miles use so far, but have noticed no difference in performance. It does smoke a little more though. Does anyone here have any experience using blended fuels? Is there a way to remove the carbon from the used oil easily? I am new to this sight but not new to diesels. Comments/Questions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 141 Old 06-09-2008, 01:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

I can't help you with the used oil though, Just don't think it is a good idea. But here is a bump for ya.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
546K 7.3L Hauler
>>

Central Texas Hotshots
post #3 of 141 Old 06-09-2008, 02:13 PM

I wouldnt run used motor oil even if it was filtered. 50/50 seems to be a pretty stiff ****tail of it too??

2002 F250
Beans Diesel Performance Tunes
All Supporting Mods

post #4 of 141 Old 06-09-2008, 02:18 PM
Premium Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
I have a buddy that has been running 100% filtered waste oil for over a year. He mixes in jet fuel to get the viscosity correct as well as some tranny fluid. Apparently the viscosity is extremely important..