Best motor to run on WVO - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Bio-Diesel/Alternative Fuels and Supplements Bio-Diesel and related Discussion. Ask Questions and discuss what has worked for you here.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2013, 08:08 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Best motor to run on WVO

I am new to the Powerstroke world and wondering which engine is best to run on WVO? I haven't purchased a truck yet but need to soon... It will be used with less then 120,000 miles and probably never run on WVO before.
Thanks in advance for the help!

-Dave
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-17-2013, 09:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Personally, I'd say a 99-03 7.3. They seem to be the most tolerant when it comes to fuel quality. The 6.0's have been doing well also. Just make sure you convert the truck the right way: two tank system, don't run veg through your diesel fuel lines / filters, etc.
Old 02-17-2013, 09:48 AM

Thanks Snake! Yeah I live way up North and can't do anything other then a heated second tank. I get my oil filtered to as low as 0.5 micron and also run on board filters too. No sense in messing around! The 7.3l don't seem to be quite as common as the 6.0l...glad to hear those are doing good on the veg!
Old 02-17-2013, 01:41 PM

The trick is going to be finding a 7.3 with low mileage. I traveled 1500 miles to find mine in West Virginia. NO RUST and the miles were right, be be prepared to pay the price. The 99-03 SD truck with low miles with CCSB lariat sthat are nice can bring $16K-$20K plus. Just so ya know.

I concur, the 7.3 is the prefered platform. A properly updated 6 litre can be a more cost effective alternative as the 03.5-06 are usually cheaper.

My next one is going to be a 6 leaker. CCSB King Ranch.