Black diesel - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Bio-Diesel/Alternative Fuels and Supplements Bio-Diesel and related Discussion. Ask Questions and discuss what has worked for you here.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 11:48 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Black diesel

Hi guys and girls, new here. I was doing some research on black diesel and came across this website. I have been using black diesel for about six months now. I farm and have been using it in all my diesel engines. I started out by using a 80% waste oil to 20% diesel. I found that some diesel engines run differently on it. I have a 986 international tractor that I could probably run straight black diesel on. I have a 575d ford newholland backhoe that does not like it at all. I now run a 50-50 mix. I have processed almost 2500 gallons, and have run a lot of it through a 912 duetz diesel engine that I pump water for sprinklers. It is a 100 hp and has used most of the black diesel. I have a 2004 6.0 ford powerstroke which I ran 50% mix. I purchased this truck in Jan.2012. I did not know these trucks were so fickle. Since I have bought it, it has had to have at least five to ten minutes to warm up until it ran smooth. After that it was great. The first time I put black diesel in it, it runs so much more quite, and it does not need to warm up at all before I take off. I do use Seafoam in my mix to cut down on carbon buildup. I have also saved thousands of dollars. The only draw back is if I get to high of percent of oil, it tends to loose power, which could be do to other problems such as filters. Although I do not seem to change fuel filters any more frequent. I am still experimenting, and it is a very oily dirty job at times. But I am sold on this. It really helps making the engine run more quite. I can also tell a difference when I am filtering the oil in whe