Considering making bio - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Bio-Diesel/Alternative Fuels and Supplements Bio-Diesel and related Discussion. Ask Questions and discuss what has worked for you here.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2012, 07:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Considering making bio

I have been running WVO in my 2 tank system for almost 3 years & 60k miles & have been very happy with the results. Have saved a ton of money. I have been gradually building up alot of sources & have what I consider a very healthy supply of VO coming in every month. So much so that I have started to sell some. I have been selling for about 8 months now & have one steady guy that buys from me regularly & 2 other guys that buy once in a while. I am selling my oil for slightly less then half the cost of D2. With fuel prices as high as they are I expected that more people would be interested. But the cost of converting a vehicle is turning alot of people away.

The vast majority of the oil I get is very good quailty & lightly used. The rest I will continue to burn as VO in my heated system.

So I am thinking that making bio would attract alot more people. Even though I have been in the VO world for a while now I know very little about making bio. It never interested me until now.

First question is safety. Messing with Methanol & lye is the main reason why I chose SVO over bio in the beginning so it still concerns me. Is making bio as dangerous as I always thought it was? What do I have to do make sure I don't slowly kill myself?