Diesel from waste motor oil - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Bio-Diesel/Alternative Fuels and Supplements Bio-Diesel and related Discussion. Ask Questions and discuss what has worked for you here.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 10:45 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs up Diesel from waste motor oil

Hi , read a couple of old posts on here and needed to share some info ;

I have been distilling used engine oil for a few months now, and wanted to let you know that ;

1. Both vehicles are running fine.
2. The Toyota seems to run even better than on regular diesel.
3. Producing approx 2lts hour.
4. Uses about 10% of fuel made to run burners.
5. No electricity required.
6. Cost - Made from bits around my garage - Waste oil free from scrappy -
Total fuel cost per litre = /$ 00.00

If anyone else is doing this I would be interested in their findings.

Mark

p.s. I'am very busy at the mo , so may not answer straight away.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-21-2012, 12:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Thats great. A more detailed discription of you processor & process would be great. Pics would be great if you have any.
Old 01-21-2012, 09:26 AM

Hi , will do soon , just need to make a few more tweeks. Got it up to 5ltrs/hour today. Last big problem I have is reliability of burners , they keep clogging up every couple of hours, even though I have filters on the feed fuel lines !
Old 01-21-2012, 09:16 PM

Found the problem , the heat being passed back down the copper pipe from the burner was causing it to break-up inside, sorted !

Brief outline of what I'am doing;

Heating waste motor oil in a old 7kg propane gas cylinder,350c or higher.
Collect and condense gases back to diesel and petrol.
The diesel is red/brown in colour, but is same viscosity and works fine.