FPHE ?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Bio-Diesel/Alternative Fuels and Supplements Bio-Diesel and related Discussion. Ask Questions and discuss what has worked for you here.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2011, 05:26 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
FPHE ??

How many plate FPHE do I need for my truck? and do I need to add a coolant pump to my system with the FPHE?

Thanks Kevin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-20-2011, 06:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 845
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
In NY I would go with 30 and up since you see cold azz winters. Coolant pump I have no idea about.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-21-2011, 05:23 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 4,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
coolant pump is not required but is advised. i would do one...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-21-2011, 05:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: WAY north Texas
Posts: 2,385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the biggest you can fit in the location you chose Some say FPHEs are not required and some will not run without one. some kits run many miles with a tiny heat exchanger and work fine. The 7.3 is an amazing setup in so many ways! The colder it is around you the bigger I would make fit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-21-2011, 12:31 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-22-2011, 07:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: WAY north Texas
Posts: 2,385
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you are in the market for one check out omarsales.com. I just bought my replacement from him and he is very fast and a good guy to deal with. Oh and what he says is actually what shows up in the box! Not like the mess I got into with another vendor and the reason why I have that goofy tinker toy setup under my truck right now...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-23-2011, 12:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 688
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The more heat the better. I would go with the coolant pump & get at least a 20 plate FPHE. Insulating your VO lines helps alot as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-23-2011, 02:43 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a 30 plate on the way, Dudadiesel had a good $$$. Do I put the coolant pump on the supply to the VO system or return?
Thanks Kevin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-23-2011, 04:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Wilmington Island, GA
Posts: 731
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've got my coolant pump mounted next to my fuel tank, on the return side of my coolant loop. I did this so that I don't risk a melt down.
I think it was Clay who mounted his in the engine bay as the first component on his supply line. So it saw maximum heat and caused it to fail. If I remember Correctly.

I didn't want mine to melt like his so I put it under the bed in line after my HotFox. I don't yet have my system up and running so I can't report the results from having it in this location yet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-26-2011, 06:43 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I got my Mercedes circ pump from parts geek. it must be meant to be an oem replacement so it had no plug connection for power does anyone know were to get the plug from?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors