What Does It Take To Be A Trucker? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Big Rigs Over the road truckin' talk

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2009, 04:27 AM
The Screwy HEUI

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question What Does It Take To Be A Trucker?

I'm counting down my final days of being a drill rig tech. Things have gotten really slow @ my place of work & me, along with some other techs, are getting laid off. Being a drill rig tech, I've travelled all around the US, usually by plane & getting a rental car to drive to where ever the rig I had to commission or service was. I did, however, drove the company's F-550 with a Maintainer service body & crane to NY, NJ, & even a sweet trip down to Orlando, FL & back. I know an F-550 is nothing close to a Peterbilt or Freightliner, but I love life on the open road with big trucks & being a truck cross-country truck driver has been a dream I've had since I was 10. The thing is, I haven't gotten the pleasure of driving a big rig. I've been around them all my life, & rode around in a few, but never actually got behind the wheel & experienced what it's like to be a real trucker. My wife offered to send me to NETTS, here in New England, but I wanted to learn the pros & cons of being a trucker before I jump into anything just yet. I know I won't be home much, which I'm used to anyway from my soon-to-be former job. & I know about measuring height, weight limits, braking, lot lizards(NO! I avoid them!), & what happens if you DON'T stop @ weigh stations. I try to get advice from local truck drivers here in New England. But I've learned much more from truckers in the south & midwest. What does it take? I need some real advice. Should I? Shouldn't I? What's a REAL trucker's take?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-12-2009, 05:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict