Considering driving for a living - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Big Rigs Over the road truckin' talk

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2013, 04:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Considering driving for a living

So I'm not new to driving, drove off and on mostly for oilfield and some local stuff (ready mix and city equipment). But I am not experienced at all in OTR. So just looking for some input from guys currently doing it. Do's, dont's, love it, hate it, anything. Just trying to get a feel for if its worth the time away from home. I've already excepted that ill have to go somewhere they can train me as I never went to a driving school. My family owned a local dump truck company as I grew up, so I got my CDL years ago. I've always loved driving big trucks, and I'm out of work now, so I'm thinkin why not.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-09-2013, 12:24 PM

I think you have to find your own happy medium between hometime and money. I work mon-fri and I'm at home on the weekends. I sacrifice a little money but to me, being at the house is more important. I did 3-4 weeks out at a time for a little while and it just about killed me, but some people stay out 2 months or longer. It's definitely different for everyone.
Old 08-27-2013, 04:34 AM