Superchip from one to another help needed? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
99-03 Ford Excursion Forum This forum is for topics relating to the Ford Excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2014, 10:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Superchip from one to another help needed?

I have a 2000 250 7.3 with a Cortex superchip. runs perfect. Just got a 2001 EXC. I set the truck back to stock so I could try the superchip in my Exc to see how much better it would do before I buy one for it. Plugged it into the EXC and nothing. Did not come on. Can any one tell me what may have happened?
Do you think the EXC allready has a programmer in it? Do I take it to a Ford dealer to set it back stock?
Thanks for any help.
Jack in Ga.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-08-2014, 10:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 13
Thanked 63 Times in 59 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it should work in the excursion.

the excursion has a PATS security system that affects programming sometimes.

read the manual on the superchips on how to tune the excursion.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-08-2014, 11:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,059
Thanks: 8
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
^ either that or it reached its VIN limit. I thought those type were limited to 3 or so VINs before needing additional unlocks purchased.
Are you sure you returned the first to stock ?
You can also read up on here about some of the available chip's / tuners available , then ordering a chip which you can change tunes on while driving and will will override anything that is on your truck now instead of getting a reflash. Or you can pull the PCM , send it to one of the companies who do stuff on here and they can burn a single tune to your PCM as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-08-2014, 11:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 2,982
Thanks: 13
Thanked 63 Times in 59 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ya scagles got a good point. some companies will flash your computer with a tune that is superior to superchips.

i dont think the superchips has a tune limit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-08-2014, 12:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I bought the superchip new. It has only been in the 2001 truck since new. I went back and made sure it was back to stock. I loved the way it worked in the truck. Big thing is Im not real smart with Diesels. I have a trip to Ohio in 3 weeks to the Ford show and like to have it in it before the trip. Thanks.
Jack in Ga.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-08-2014, 01:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,059
Thanks: 8
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you like superchip ...you'll LOVE Gearhead , NoLimit , PHP , DP , Powerstruck and so on. I recently installed a backup chip from powerstruck and they are quiet , quick and clean !

Search and Read up some before spending more on superchip -
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to scagle1 For This Useful Post:
jsohc (03-08-2014)
  #7  
Old 03-10-2014, 07:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 264
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I got money that it's the PATS. Turn the key to on until the theft light quits flashing, once it quits flashing turn it off & take the key away from the steering wheel. Like in the passenger seat for about 30 seconds. Mine almost always does it when I change the programming. Saving for a 6 position chip now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors