K&N Air Intake Kit and using a different filter? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
99-03 Ford Excursion Forum This forum is for topics relating to the Ford Excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2014, 03:49 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question K&N Air Intake Kit and using a different filter?

I'm a noob to Diesels, so please throw me a bone on this one. 2002 7.3 Excursion, 2wd. 148k miles.

I just bout it a couple days ago and it came with a K&N air intake kit (filter, heat shield, and pipe run) installed. From what I have been reading, K&N anything is not the best setup for a 7.3. I'm thinking about going with the Ford AIS kit, but really do not want to shell out the money unless I have to. So, my question is can I keep the K&N kit, but use a different filter on it or should I go ahead and do the whole thing? Recommendations?

Thank you for your help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-11-2014, 06:58 AM
Christ Follower

Keep the K&N intake pipe, Call Riffraff and get their 6637 filter. You can get one at NAPA or any fleet store. Riffraff is the cheapest by far. Good to get 2 at a time because of the shipping cost. I think they are $28.99 but still cheaper with shipping than anyone else I find
Old 01-11-2014, 07:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Keep the pipe and heat shield , toss the filter , buy an amsoil filter , they make an exact match for the K&N with the screw and all. Been there done that. I don't recall the part number but do know I've posted it up in the forum a few times so it is searchable. The DIY filter will not work with the heat shield so in the thoughts of keeping it nice looking I would avoid that route.
Old 01-11-2014, 07:17 AM