New Member: Sell minivan and buy a 7.3 Ex? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
99-03 Ford Excursion Forum This forum is for topics relating to the Ford Excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2013, 09:43 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New Member: Sell minivan and buy a 7.3 Ex?

Hello all. I am considering buying a 7.3 liter Excursion and have been reading this forum quite a bit lately while doing my research. I need some help with convincing my wife that this would be a wise purchase (and in my own mind too). I drove pickup trucks for about my first 15 years of driving experience, and I really miss having a 4X4 and something that can haul/tow stuff. I just joined the community, and this is my first post. Also, I'm a diesel newbie, so please go easy on me.

I currently drive a 2007 Chrysler minivan with the 3.8 liter V6, which we purchased shortly after having our first kid. It works great as a people hauler (and for trips to Home Depot with the car seats removed), and gets about 16.5 town/21 highway mpg. However, I would like something that I could use to confidently pull my 6.5X12 utility trailer, and probably eventually a camper of some sort. My current van is getting up there in miles, and I will replace it within the next 6 months with something used, on a budget of $20,000 or under.

The 7.3L Excursions that I'm finding within my price range generally have just over 100,000 miles. I know that a 7.3 PSD with that many miles has a lot of life left in it, but what can I reasonably expect will need to be replaced (engine components or otherwise) right away?