02 Ex drives all over the road???? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
99-03 Ford Excursion Forum This forum is for topics relating to the Ford Excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 06:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
02 Ex drives all over the road????

I am new to Super Dutys and recently bought a 02 Excursion 4x4 with a 7.3. I replaced the upper and lower ball joints and had it aligned. It's like I'm always chasing it driving down the road....guys tell me that that's just how SD's drive but I'm not buying it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-11-2012, 06:39 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Check the track bar to be sure it is tight. I've seen then loosen at the frame end. Also make sure the tires are not under inflated.

Sent from my DROID X2 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Old 10-11-2012, 06:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Thanks. Will do. Do the steering boxes wear out??
Old 10-12-2012, 05:41 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2008LMM View Post
Thanks. Will do. Do the steering boxes wear out??
If your steering gear is the problem then yes, you can in fact "adjust" the steering gear preload in your favor. You do so by tightening the small bolt on top of the gear box. Loosen the hold down nut and turn the adjustment bolt clockwise no more than a 1/4 turn. Tightening it any further usually causes the gear to wear much faster and can be dangerous if it is too tight.

You should know that the SD's do not drive as poorly as the Ex does from the factory. The Ex is known for poor handling and most of us have shed the stock springs for aftermarket springs or SD spring packs and a couple other enhancements like a big fat rear sway bar and dual shocks up front. Believe it or not the Ex never came with a rear sway bar.