about to buy a ex need advice - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
99-03 Ford Excursion Forum This forum is for topics relating to the Ford Excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2011, 07:18 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Smile about to buy a ex need advice

I am posting this in both the 6.0 and this forum, Ive owned a 02 7.3 f250 nearing 300K but want a ex, I drove a 04 ex with cold air intake and exhaust and impressed with the power, I am a mechanic by trade so i'm doing the work, i will do mods but only drive rough 1-5% of my miles. I tow a 5k trailer daily. Fuel mileage is important. What is the way to go motor wise? I'm between a 02 7.3 and a 04 6.0 both have close to 180K. Also what is the approx cost to do a 6.0 so it holds up? I won't pay for labor but head bolts, egr and oil coolers etc? Thanks for your thoughts. if I go 7.3 with exhaust,a tune how will I compare to the 6.0? I am not a racer but a little power never hurt. Thanks, When I do get a ex I will provide info and as much tech help as I can.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-02-2011, 08:05 PM

I have a 01 Ex with the 7.3 towing my jeep around on it I get 15 all day long at 665-70 if I slow it down to 60 I am around 17. Jeep trailer loaded with camping/food/tools around 8000 pounds. My 7.3 pulls it and stops it no problem. I have a buddy with a late 03 6.0. I have towed with his truck and got 14ish. The 6.0 feels like there is more power then my 7.3. Does it matter to me no. I am not chip tuned or anything. They both stopped anything I tossed at it. Ohh I towed a bobcat (10,500 just for the machine) and it did fine there too on my X.