Tuner or Chip? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
99-03 Ford Excursion Forum This forum is for topics relating to the Ford Excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2011, 03:40 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 56
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Tuner or Chip?

I already have exhuast, intake and guages. I'm buying a tuner or chip this week. I want something were I can leave in everyday tune for best gas mileage but quickly turn it up and flex the muscle! Whats the best option for gas mileage? I was thinking about the TS 6 position.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-29-2011, 09:04 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Jose
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TW 6 Pos. gets my vote. I love mine, plus free re burn if you wanna switch it up or add other goodies.
Only thing I want changed on mine is the throttle response is VERY progressive on daily, street, and race. Ie. trying to take off the line slowly, ex wants to scoot and makes your foot push on the go pedal more. I'm getting used to it, but wished I knew about asking to change it before receiving it. I really like the econo throttle response and the street power and economy. Being able to change tunes on the fly is the only way to go.
Oh yeah I picked up 3 mpg on average.
I think any custom tuned chip you go with will give you amazing results, I still can't believe the difference. Getting sideways with the long wheelbase scared the crap out of me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-30-2011, 05:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 130
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I went with a tuner but it was because i needed the "guages" and the tune but did not have the $ at the time to spend.

I agree w/ monstercourier and suggest a Chip if you have the guages already. It takes me ten (10) minutes to "change tunes".

D
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-30-2011, 07:04 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 10
Thanked 30 Times in 29 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Have Dp with the gauge style switcher and could not imagine having it any other way then right in your face push a button and see the display type. TW , PHP ,DP ....search em up , all pretty close inline price wise , opinions will vary as to who's are the best but i dont know how many of those opinions come from folks who have tried them all so look around......and ENJOY ! whole different animal when you do it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-30-2011, 03:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,533
Thanks: 1
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Best is a TS chip..only way to be able to try "if wanted" all the great tuners as its the only one they will reburn tunes to.
We sell TS chips with TW tunes..in stock ship next day. PM if I can help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-30-2011, 07:19 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Elizabethtown,ky
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the Ts performance 6 position. Love it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-30-2011, 07:59 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 56
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
got a Hypertech from a buddy for $75. I plugged it in and got a "6D" code and it said call the 800#. What the hell is this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-31-2011, 08:20 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Jose
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by scagle1 View Post
Have Dp with the gauge style switcher and could not imagine having it any other way then right in your face push a button and see the display type. TW , PHP ,DP ....search em up , all pretty close inline price wise , opinions will vary as to who's are the best but i dont know how many of those opinions come from folks who have tried them all so look around......and ENJOY ! whole different animal when you do it.
I'm picturing this as an L.E.D/L.C.D type display? Is that what it is? That sounds a little nicer than just a black knob. I'm trying to figure a better way to indicate what number I'm on, other than current setup of just laying the switch on the column with numbers that I scribbled on the switch body (I know.........ghetto).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-01-2011, 06:24 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 56
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by monstercourier View Post
I'm picturing this as an L.E.D/L.C.D type display? Is that what it is? That sounds a little nicer than just a black knob. I'm trying to figure a better way to indicate what number I'm on, other than current setup of just laying the switch on the column with numbers that I scribbled on the switch body (I know.........ghetto).
It looks like this - F5 & F6 Gauge Switcher Blue Black Bezel Black Face - Chip Switches & Misc. - Tuning - Ford Powerstroke 7.3L
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-01-2011, 06:52 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 72
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That error code is a calibration not found code and would have to be sent back to Hypertech to be updated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors