no throttle response - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2009, 04:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no throttle response

I have a buddy has a 1999 ford F 350 diesel. the engine runs but when you give it the gas nothing happens and the check engine light comes on. When you let off the gas it goes out and the light goes off. Any ideas or how do you get the codes without a decoder?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-13-2009, 06:14 AM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,568
Thanks: 5
Thanked 101 Times in 96 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobsundance View Post
I have a buddy has a 1999 ford F 350 diesel. the engine runs but when you give it the gas nothing happens and the check engine light comes on. When you let off the gas it goes out and the light goes off. Any ideas or how do you get the codes without a decoder?
Sounds like the throttle position sensor is bad. Have to replace the throttle pedal assembly to fix.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-05-2009, 09:44 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs up PEDAL POSITION SENSOR

HAD SAME PROBLEM, FORD WANTED 185.00 WHOLESALE PRICE FOR ONE. I BOUGHT A DORMAN PART#699-201 FOR 49.99 IT IS JUST THE SENSOR , NOT WHOLE PEDAL ASSEMBLY:
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-09-2009, 08:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No responce

I had a simular problem with my 01...However, mine was due to a short in the wiring harness in the columb . The shifter(automatic) fits into its hole in the columb and has a hardened pin that keeps it from coming out. This pin is held in place by a steel clip. The wiring harness for the overdrive button crosses this clip and continues up the shifter to the button on the end. When it is shorted to ground the fuse blows and you loose your glow circuit, gauges, and you guessed it, Your pedal. Idles great.... Dealer wanted $ 150. to look at it and was told by a freind/ford diesel tech that all they would do is sell me a columb....sigh....3 inches of heat shrink, 5 inches of 3m electric tape and one tyrap. .87 cents
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-10-2009, 06:47 AM
dmd dmd is offline
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 451
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Do you have the other symptoms of the gauges also? Looks like good info, if no
problems with other stuff, then could just be the pedal assembly switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-10-2009, 11:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Union City, IN
Posts: 862
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Big_Stroker
TPS is bad... Replace that and your good
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-10-2009, 11:08 AM
KVFD
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kearney, Nebraska
Posts: 4,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to redstroker_2002
is it chipped? first time i threw a chip on mine i put the pcm back in fast and ended up bending a prong on it and i had no throttle. just hi idle.. so tony had to fix it lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-10-2009, 11:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 6,512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grinder4400 View Post
I had a simular problem with my 01...However, mine was due to a short in the wiring harness in the columb . The shifter(automatic) fits into its hole in the columb and has a hardened pin that keeps it from coming out. This pin is held in place by a steel clip. The wiring harness for the overdrive button crosses this clip and continues up the shifter to the button on the end. When it is shorted to ground the fuse blows and you loose your glow circuit, gauges, and you guessed it, Your pedal. Idles great.... Dealer wanted $ 150. to look at it and was told by a freind/ford diesel tech that all they would do is sell me a columb....sigh....3 inches of heat shrink, 5 inches of 3m electric tape and one tyrap. .87 cents
I had the same thing happen to me.

To the OP. Check your fuses and see if you've blown a fuse, that will help diagnose it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-27-2013, 04:58 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: High Desert, So. Cal.
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have checked fuses, the wiring in the steering column and replaced the throttle position sensor and still the same thing...starts fine and idles fine but no throttle response
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-27-2013, 05:11 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pasadena, TX
Posts: 6,512
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does your OD light work? If not, it's the wire that goes through the column to your OD light that is shorted. You have to buy the whole shifter from Ford.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors