No Power/rough idle - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2006, 02:02 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No Power/rough idle

Hey guys, need a little help here. I searched around for about an hour and didnt really find anyone having the exact same problem I am having. It all started last night when I put the chip in my truck (TS Perf.). The first weird thing that happend was: I was switching the settings on the dial for the chimp while going down the road at about 15mph and the truck died. It started right back up and the next few times a switched settings it just stumbled. Other than that the truck ran great. Then today when I got on it, the turbo started to spool up and kick in, then all of a sudden the truck just died. Then it was very hard to start and idled like crap. The idle was erratic and lower than normal (fluctuation 500-800rpm with a lot of clatter, clatter goes away at >600-700RPM). Now I have no power at all, only enough to slowly move the truck and its missing a lot. The Servbice Engine Soon light is also ON. I recyled the key 8 times to resert the computer and even disconnected the batteries. No dice. Oil level checks good.


From what I have gathered so far is that it might be my CPS sensor or Valve cover connections. I am going to start by removing the chip after work to eliminate the chip from the whole deal. Then move onto the Valve Covers. I went ahead and ordered the CPS, I can stick it in the glove box for later if it turns out not to be the prblem. Any other sugestions?? I am not looking forward to removing the valve covers. At a quick glance it looks like there is a bunch of crap in the way. Thanks for you time guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-12-2006, 02:08 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if it started right after chip install...i would clean the contacts again....maybe they have a little stuff on them hindering contact.....

If that isnt it...then you are definately on the right track!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-13-2006, 08:32 PM
Moderator
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Athens Illinois
Posts: 578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to 00powerstrokin
I knew u would know what to do marc. Looks like you were on the right track Ryan let me know how it goes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-14-2006, 09:33 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well, it wasnt the Chip.....I should have a new CPS by Friday
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-14-2006, 01:57 PM
Moderator
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Athens Illinois
Posts: 578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to 00powerstrokin
hopefully that will fix it. If not it was time for a new one anyway
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-14-2006, 02:09 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 723
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would bet if your SES light is on, it still runs, but runs like crap it's your under valve cover connections.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-17-2006, 06:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yep, sure was.....Those valve covers were a biatch to take off....it kicked out codes 1271, 1273, 1293 and 1294...I made my own "wedge" kit instead of buying the stuff from Ford. Just took some aluminum stock and cut it to fit, the valve cover acts a a retainer...it worked out pretty well actually. I would have taken pictures but I didnt have access to a digital camera and I really needed to get the truck back together. Thanks for the info you guys put on this site, it sure is handy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-17-2006, 06:12 PM
Moderator
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Athens Illinois
Posts: 578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to 00powerstrokin
Good deal man we will see u friday
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-29-2007, 07:25 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Smile Reset computer???

Gimmie9,

I am new to the forum here but have been reading alot of information that has helped me with my 1999.5 F350 7.3 PS. Thanks, this is a great forum!

I noted that you mention cycling ignition 8 times to reset computer, does that give you a complete reset to the factory tune and could it mess the computer up?

The reason I ask is because I have a Predator tuner for my truck and it started being difficult to change tunes. It acted as though the tuner could not communicate with the truck occasionally. It finally got to the point that I was stuck in a tune and could not change it. I sent the tuner back to Diablosport and they repaired an internal wiring problem and returned it to me. I immediately tried it on the truck and it still would not work. Their tech guy talked me through a force method to try and reinstall the original factory tune to no avail.

I thought that it could have been a problem with my ignition switch so I cycled it about 10 times and then attempted to restore the original tune to the truck. It acted as though the original tune was being reinstalled and then halfway through the process the tuner stopped. THEN MY TRUCK WOULD NOT START AT ALL!!!!

Long story short: trip to the dealer and they said the PCM was bad and replaced it, flashing the original program back in. Truck runs great now. Diablosport took my tuner back in for the second time to test and now they tell me that they are giving me a new tuner.

Could I have messed something up by cycling the ignition? Would you all guess that the PCM was just going bad since I had communication troubles? Or should I believe that the tuner went bad and screwed my computer up?

Alot of questions for a first time post, but this has been a very frustrating and expensive ordeal!

Thanks in advance!


Last edited by RRlocoENGR; 01-29-2007 at 07:28 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors