Truck shakes in warmer weather, fine in cold weather - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 04-15-2014, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
shordinges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Truck shakes in warmer weather, fine in cold weather

As the weather is warming up I have noticed that the truck idles rough and shakes in lower rpm. Whether the truck is warm or cold it does not seem to matter, however when the ambient temp is colder (below 40) the truck does not seem to have any issues, all is normal. But above 40 it starts to develop a shake between idle and 1200 rpm. If it is above 60 degrees it has a very rough idle and shakes up to about 1500 rpm. I still plug in my truck at night and have no issues on the 30 minute drive to work at 6am when it's cool out. But on lunch break and after work when it's warmer the truck shakes and intensifies with the outdoor temp. It gets to almost 100 here in the summer so I need to fix this soon

*Bought March 2011 @ 150K / Sold March 2016 @ 230K* E1999 7.3 PS 6 Speed,TS 6 position chip. K&N CAI, 4" straightpipe, Auto Meter Elite gauges.
*Bought May 2016 @ 59K* 07 F250 HD Edition 6.0 Stock
shordinges is offline  
post #2 of 5 Old 04-15-2014, 02:15 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
shordinges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Also I spend the weekends in a different area that is about 10-15 degreese warmer than my home, when I am there the truck will shake really bad in the morning because it's warmer there so I know it's not an issue about sitting overnight and cooling down.

*Bought March 2011 @ 150K / Sold March 2016 @ 230K* E1999 7.3 PS 6 Speed,TS 6 position chip. K&N CAI, 4" straightpipe, Auto Meter Elite gauges.
*Bought May 2016 @ 59K* 07 F250 HD Edition 6.0 Stock
shordinges is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-15-2014, 09:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
blue99stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 4,950
Thanks: 18
Thanked 210 Times in 201 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sounds fuel or oil related.

how long since you changed the oil?

i had a shake at idle before as well, i rebuilt the Fuel pressure regulator and it helped some.

i the replaced the icp and that helped more.

also i run synthetic oil and the truck runs smoother.

on a random note you can try a different cps.
i recommend the delphi hts101. little smoother starts and idle over the ford grey cps.

why do you need to plug your truck in? mine starts fine in the teens unplugged.
any codes?

99.5 f250 7.3 4x4 258k
PHP Phoenix, S&B CAI, 4" TBE, Hpx, Stancor, RR Billet Wheel, AIH Delete, Autometer Gauges, Leveling kit, Transgo kit, Warn Hubs, Int'l Up-Pipes, RR IC Boots, Non-Ebpv Pedestal, High Flow Outlet, RR OCR, 08 Tow Mirrors.

Dad-2000 7.3 109k miles, Autometer Gauges, Superchips 1705, AIH Delete, 6637, 4" TBE, BD Billet Wheel, TruCool Max

Last edited by blue99stroker; 04-15-2014 at 09:12 PM.
blue99stroker is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-16-2014, 11:14 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
shordinges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I plug in my truck still so it's warm in the morning and doesn't need as much warm up time. I leave my apartment at 5:30 am and my neighbors don't care for a straight piped powerstroke running that early, it's a courtesy to them really.
I changed my oil about 3k miles ago with the usual schaefers full synthetic like always. Oil sample was good. But it was colder then so the issue might have been present but not noticeable until the weather changed. I have all original sensors
shordinges is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-16-2014, 06:11 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
shordinges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 129
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
And no codes, but it's possible my chip might clear codes that it thinks it should ignore, I'm not sure if it's capable of that
shordinges is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome