wont start/dead battery condition - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2013, 07:19 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wont start/dead battery condition

i have an 02 excursion with the 7.3L and was wiring my train horns in today. truck acted fine. now once i was finished with the wiring and tried to crank it i get nothing. then i put a battery charger on thinking my stereo killed the battery and it just clicks. cant even roll up the window. i unwired everything i hooked up and it still doing the same thing. batterys load tested fine and have 12.3 volts. could it be a fuse? its acting like a bad ground though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:23 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok so it was a bad ground as i thought. cleaned and she fired right up. now my abs light is on and i have no power to the brake controller.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-05-2013, 08:00 AM
Powerstroke Junkie


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 38 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
abs light being on indicates that you should have a stored code. Have it read by a scanner with the correct Ford Bundle since these trucks aren't OBDII compliant. A couple things to check at home would be all fuses and the ABS lines where they attach to the rear of each hub.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-05-2013, 10:05 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the abs light turned itself off. i know a few weeks ago when i destroyed a front wheel bearing i killed the abs sensor but it went away when i replaced the hub. could it have been displaying that code again because i never cleared it? still not sure why it was on. still no power to the brake controller. and i cant find anywhere on the internet where it gets power from.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-06-2013, 12:37 PM
Powerstroke Junkie


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mayberry, NC
Posts: 8,309
Thanks: 0
Thanked 38 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't have the schematic in front of me, check all your fuses. No it shouldn't of been displaying a old code that had already been corrected.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors