Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Oil in ehaust pipe and smoking (long post)

1K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Corey@CNCFAB 
#1 ·
Hello, I am a newbie to your forums but not to my truck. Have owned for the past 6 years. Has been a trouble free vehicle which is great. About 6mo ago I got tired of my EBPV staying on for quite a while after warm up and even under partial throttle. I had already changed the EBPV sensor pipe which had wholes in but didn't help so I disconnected the solenoid so it wouldn't operate. At that time I disconnected my crank case vent from my inlet pipe and ran a hose from the valve cover over towards the master cylinder and down below the framrail, even gave it a 45 degree cut to help let air going across it some pull. Anyway a couple of months ago, my truck started smoking profussely and noticed oil all the way back at in my tail pipe. Not being a dummy to turbos figured rear turbine seal let go. So got a kit with the 360 thrust and upgradded compressor wheel as my vehicle has compressor surge. Rebuilt turbo installed and about 2 months later started smoking again. Removed turbo and found turbine and exhaust soaked with oil again. Thinking rebuild didn't take tried the company that sold me the kit to no help. Inspected turbo and couldn't find anything wrong. A customer from my work let me use a take off turbo. So I installed my upgraded compressor wheel and installed on my truck. It leaked out my exhaust worse then my turbo. Thinking it may be an balance issue installed my stock compressor wheel back on my turbo and installed on my truck, which in turn was leaking just as bad as my test turbo. So started looking around through google and found some other members that talked about the turbo pedstal leaking. So wondering if the pedestal could leak internally I removed it and plugged the pressure port on one side and blew though it with compressed air and was getting air through the return side as well. So removed the plunger a