wont go into gear - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
wont go into gear

Alright i have a problem. i jumped into my truck to run up to the store. I started her up and went to shift into reverse. The shifter wont go down into reverse. ANY HELP? Trans shows no signs of any problemsa. Its a 2002 F-250 PSD.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:23 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Turn the steering wheel back and forth sometimes the locking mechanism gets stuck. I know this works on my 2002 F-250.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
alright i tried that. Did nothing. I shut the truck off while trying to shift into gear. The shifter moved with the key in the lock/accessory position. turned truck back on will not shift into grar. turned it off again and put it in acc and it went through all the gears.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:30 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowcoupe View Post
alright i tried that. Did nothing. I shut the truck off while trying to shift into gear. The shifter moved with the key in the lock/accessory position. turned truck back on will not shift into grar. turned it off again and put it in acc and it went through all the gears.
Are you applying the brake. You need to apply the brake in order to shift into gear.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:31 PM
Jon
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
shifting

more then likely the brake switch on the pedal. Step on the brakes and see if your brake lights work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
yes i was applying brake pressure. where abouts is the brake switch???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:34 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowcoupe View Post
yes i was applying brake pressure. where abouts is the brake switch???
It is down under the dash mounted to the brake pedal assembly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
alright. What do you guys think could be wrong with it? broken? can it move???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:36 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowcoupe View Post
alright. What do you guys think could be wrong with it? broken? can it move???
I would check and see if it is working with a volt meter. But like Jon said are your brake lights working.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
yes the brake lights work fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors