Speedo bailed. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2008, 03:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to TINIRAU
Speedo bailed.

My speedo just bit the dust at 200K. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-15-2008, 03:25 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
check your fuses or rear wheel speed sensor. they are relatively cheap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-15-2008, 03:37 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,759
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rwalker View Post
check your fuses or rear wheel speed sensor. they are relatively cheap.
There is a speed sensor on the transfer case or the transmission. I don't remember exactly where but it is located on one of those two.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-15-2008, 03:49 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to TINIRAU
So sensor either on the tranny, transfer case or rear wheels eh? Well it hasent caved totally yet. Somewhat intermitent. Ill do some checking. Thanks guys. "what do ya mean I was doing 75? My speedo says I wasnt even moving. Your radar is faulty."..........lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-15-2008, 03:52 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,759
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Quote:
Originally Posted by TINIRAU View Post
So sensor either on the tranny, transfer case or rear wheels eh? Well it hasent caved totally yet. Somewhat intermitent. Ill do some checking. Thanks guys. "what do ya mean I was doing 75? My speedo says I wasnt even moving. Your radar is faulty."..........lol
There is a sensor on the rear axle. But there is another one that is either on the transmission or the transfer case. I don't remember exactly where. But I do know that there is two sensors and the one is deffinately located on the rear axle differential housing.

Sorry for confusing you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-15-2008, 04:02 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger

 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
What other stuff is not working? Is the ABS light on? Is the OD light on the shifter flashing? Does it shift normal?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-15-2008, 04:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to TINIRAU
ABS light is on. Its a 6 speed so it shifts fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-15-2008, 04:24 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger

 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
HaHa...It is not a 6 speed. It is a "Bolt Action".

I believe it is the VSS on the rear axle. $26 from the dealer. It only requires a 10mm wrench. I had one go on my truck last November.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-15-2008, 04:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to TINIRAU
"Bolt Action"...........lol. Got that right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-15-2008, 04:32 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
ive had the same problem on an old truck, it was the speed sensor. very easily changed and was by far the cheapest fix.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors