ECM Programming??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2013, 06:33 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question ECM Programming???

I have a 2001 Ford F350 7.3 4x4 automatic.

My tranny was acting up really bad, it wasn't shifting correctly, wouldn't lockup the torque converter. I figured the tranny was going bad and I already had a rebuilt tranny, so I changed it.

The problems did not go away after the swap and I received an open circuit code. I took it to the auto electric and he checked all the lines and none had any issues. But he came up with the P1605 and told me the ecm was bad. I ordered another one from Ford with the exact number they say it needed.

But in the mean time, my truck needs to continue to run, that's how I make my living. So, I took the ecm out of my 99 (same truck, different year) and the tranny worked great.

Received the ecm today from the dealer. I installed it and it won't lockup the torque converter in 2nd and 3rd gear. As you can imagine, it heated my tranny up in no time flat.

I took it back to the dealer and they said I have to flash it to operate my truck correctly. I know people will argue with me, but I really don't see the use of that. Anyways, if that's suppose to cure the issue, then do it. They flashed the computer and as I thought, didn't change a thing.

Now that's the history and I hope its clear. Now my question.

Since the last ecm had this issue and this new one has the same issue. (Remember, the 99 ecm did not have issues)

Does Ford mess up on their programming? It really seems like its from this numbered ecm.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-13-2013, 03:34 AM
Premium Member