Help, Truck runs like it used to with map unplugged. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2013, 03:33 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Help, Truck runs like it used to with map unplugged.

I have inherited my fathers truck and have been fixing a lot of things on it. Now, this is where I'm confused I knew the truck's map sensor had been unplugged for awhile now it doesn't go into limp mode nor does it roll smoke. But it does go limp with it plugged in. I know the map is bad however what doesn't it go limp without it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-17-2013, 05:38 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just went out and Messed with the truck a bit. With the map sensor plugged in I tried line locking it and let the turbo spool up it wont go over 2000rpm with it unplugged it will reach about 3200 this was warm but not operating temp.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-17-2013, 05:43 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lantzville
Posts: 104
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Help, Truck runs like it used to with map unplugged.

If its unplugged, doesn't it just use a default value similarity like if you unplug the icp?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-17-2013, 06:15 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I was just a bit fuzzy, due to the different posts about unplugging it an black smoke rolling and I was curious to why mine wasn't if it was unplugged.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-18-2013, 08:43 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So should I replace it or just leave it as is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-21-2013, 02:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Knox Indiana, 46534
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's probably bad, i paid 105 for mine from advanced. And i think it does go to a factory seeing in the ecm if it's unplugged
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors