Another 7.3L Leaking - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2008, 09:34 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Another 7.3L Leaking

Hello everybody!

I'm new to Diesels and know didly about them, but I have learned a lot from this forum.

I have a 2002 F250, 7.3L PSD. I bought it about six months ago with only 50,000 miles on it. It doesn't appear to have any mods on it except for an upgraded exhaust.

I have developed a leak that I'm assuming is fuel. Looks like oil to me but after reading all the threads here it's got to be fuel. I first noticed puddles of fuel/oil in the manifold valleys, both front and rear. Now when I park the vehicle after driving it, the fuel/oil leaks down the rear of the engine and onto the ground leaving a nice size puddle.

I have used the search feature about fuel leaks and and there seems to be so many of them on the Powerstroke that it is at times confusing, especially since I have no knowledge of diesel engines.

Anyway I found the leak is coming from the fuel line located on the driver's side of the fuel pump. It is the line on the left that's painted with a green dot. It looks like there is either silicone residue or the remnants of an o-ring.

While the engine is running I can see the fuel leaking from where the line is threaded into the pump.

Questions:

Is this an easy fix and can I do it myself? I have a warranty on it but it's such a pain to leave it off at the dealership.

Can anybody send me a link on how to fix it?

Should I still be driving it with this leak until I get a chance to get it fixed?

Thank's in advance!

Here's some pics of what i'm talking about.

The fuel lines painted with a green dot at the bottom of the pic.

Close up of the fuel line. One on the left is leaking. Note the red silicone looking substance around it.