TC lockup switch install help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2008, 01:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TC lockup switch install help

I bought a switch from radio shack today to do the torque converter lockup mod. Need help wiring it though. I know its the violet wire with the yellow stripe. My question is about the switch. I bought one that has a light that comes on when the switch is on. It has three prongs. It says they are for load, power, and ground. How do I wire this switch to work for this application?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mesa, Az
Posts: 521
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't think you can get the light to come on with out burning up something.

If I remember correctly.
The load would go to the t/q wire and tap in.
Then you go to ground on the other side of the switch.

With your switch, I think it would put 12v where it's not supposed to be. The ground is to make the light in the switch work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 4,231
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
try this link, Welcome to guzzle's TC Lockup Mod Web Page
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-05-2008, 05:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does the tc wire have constant current running through it when its locked? If so is it positive or negative?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:04 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 723
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryceba View Post
Does the tc wire have constant current running through it when its locked? If so is it positive or negative?
DO NOT APPLY POSITVE VOLTAGE to this wire. It needs to be grounded. Go to the page suggested above (guzzles torque converter mod) IMO it is the best one out there. I went to radio shack and got all the parts for under $30 took about 1 1/2 hours to do. Works great and no O/D light flashing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 171
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I will do that mod when I have more time and dough. Would connecting the ground wire and the one that makes the light turn on at the switch make the light turn on? I have no idea about his stuff sorry. I would just like to have a light indicating that its off or on
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:24 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 723
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The easiest way is putting a relay in there. That way you can hook up your power to the switch and have the relay put the ground to torque converter wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mesa, Az
Posts: 521
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I agree with the above statements. And if there was power going thru the wire, adding a light would increase the load on that circuit, causing computer damage. Or it will blead off voltage and the T/Q won't lock all the way, causing slippage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:49 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Moses Lake, WA
Posts: 723
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here is a very crude paint shop drawing. Doing it this way will make the O/D light flash when the PCM commands the t/c to unlock and you have the switch on. This is a basic automotive type relay

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Not far from Folsom Prison
Posts: 663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here ya go.

Welcome to guzzle's TC Lockup Mod Web Page
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors