7.3 psd cranks over all day but will not start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 01-19-2013, 10:45 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
7.3 psd cranks over all day but will not start

I have a 2002 7.3 stroke sometimes when you shut it off it won't start back up an when you drive it it will just die out for about 5 seconds then pick back up an run fine. I just changed the cps an about 8 months ago changed the glow plug relay. I have a dP tuner f5 on it an was wondering if that may cause it not to start but I don't think so. No smoke out tail pipe when turning over and will not start with ether. If anyone has any tips for me I would sure ap it thanks

Last edited by heavyr; 01-19-2013 at 10:52 PM.
heavyr is offline  
post #2 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 04:52 AM
Premium Member
 
RadarRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,589
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyr View Post
I have a 2002 7.3 stroke sometimes when you shut it off it won't start back up an when you drive it it will just die out for about 5 seconds then pick back up an run fine. I just changed the cps an about 8 months ago changed the glow plug relay. I have a dP tuner f5 on it an was wondering if that may cause it not to start but I don't think so. No smoke out tail pipe when turning over and will not start with ether. If anyone has any tips for me I would sure ap it thanks
2 quick areas you might want to check: 1st- does the tach move while cranking? & 2- do you have fuel in the fuel bowl?

"HEAVY" 2001 F-250 XLT 4x4 EC SB:
TW 6pos chip, S&B CAI, Monster 4" exhaust w/ Power Elbow, Big Head WGA, Technicooler, ITP boost fooler, Gen 1 Wicked Wheel, Six-Gun Tuner, Optima Yellow Tops, AutoMeter(Boost, Trans, EGT), CCV mod, MTS TC, MTS valve body, Trans Tech performance rebuild kit, TransGo shift kit, Hornblasters 242 Shocker Train Horns.

RadarRider is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 05:00 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thank you I will check the fuel bowl an iv heard that on a 02 the tach does not move when turning over I know a buddy of mine has a 96 powerstroke an the tach moves on it.
heavyr is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 05:11 AM
Premium Member
 
RadarRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,589
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyr View Post
Thank you I will check the fuel bowl an iv heard that on a 02 the tach does not move when turning over I know a buddy of mine has a 96 powerstroke an the tach moves on it.
I'm not exactly sure if the tach doesn't move in an '02, as it still used the same type of cam position sensor (CPS) as the earlier models. If you tach doesn't move, it might be the CPS(or on Powerstroke.Org, they call it a CMP). Don't quote me on this yet. We still have to see if there's fuel in the fuel bowl.

"HEAVY" 2001 F-250 XLT 4x4 EC SB:
TW 6pos chip, S&B CAI, Monster 4" exhaust w/ Power Elbow, Big Head WGA, Technicooler, ITP boost fooler, Gen 1 Wicked Wheel, Six-Gun Tuner, Optima Yellow Tops, AutoMeter(Boost, Trans, EGT), CCV mod, MTS TC, MTS valve body, Trans Tech performance rebuild kit, TransGo shift kit, Hornblasters 242 Shocker Train Horns.

RadarRider is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 05:21 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK I did change that also but when I get home I'll see if there is fuel in bowl I app your time
heavyr is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 06:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,230
Thanks: 7
Thanked 237 Times in 228 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The Tach doesn't move on an '02 (and some 01's and all 03's). It has to do with the Instrument Cluster being upgraded (w/Trans Temp Gauge) and how it shows the signal from the CPS on the tach.

STOP using Either! Bad Move on an engine with GPs. It's not gonna be the GP's or GPR that makes it quit or not restart after it's been running.

Changing the CPS it a good idea, also removing the Tuner (not just set back to Stock, REMOVE it) is the next thing I would try. It's always good to go back to basics when you're having trouble

Have you seen the SES light come on when it's running at all?

Fuel would be next after that;

Fuel - pump runs? Fuel refilling filter housing? (open the drain level to check)

Tank below 1/4? Could the fuel gauge be giving a bad reading? (are you close to empty?)
NoRalPh is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 01-24-2013, 06:23 AM
Premium Member
 
RadarRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,589
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoRalPh View Post
The Tach doesn't move on an '02 (and some 01's and all 03's). It has to do with the Instrument Cluster being upgraded (w/Trans Temp Gauge) and how it shows the signal from the CPS on the tach.

STOP using Either! Bad Move on an engine with GPs. It's not gonna be the GP's or GPR that makes it quit or not restart after it's been running.

Changing the CPS it a good idea, also removing the Tuner (not just set back to Stock, REMOVE it) is the next thing I would try. It's always good to go back to basics when you're having trouble

Have you seen the SES light come on when it's running at all?

Fuel would be next after that;

Fuel - pump runs? Fuel refilling filter housing? (open the drain level to check)

Tank below 1/4? Could the fuel gauge be giving a bad reading? (are you close to empty?)
It's funny, I just found out from another friend the '02/'03's tach doesn't move & now I read this. You DO learn something new everyday. As far as the ether, +1 for NoRalph again. BAD, BAD STUFF. Now that the CPS/tach thing is cleared, this sounds like a fuel problem. Might even want to do a contrib or buzz test to see if you have any IDM codes.

"HEAVY" 2001 F-250 XLT 4x4 EC SB:
TW 6pos chip, S&B CAI, Monster 4" exhaust w/ Power Elbow, Big Head WGA, Technicooler, ITP boost fooler, Gen 1 Wicked Wheel, Six-Gun Tuner, Optima Yellow Tops, AutoMeter(Boost, Trans, EGT), CCV mod, MTS TC, MTS valve body, Trans Tech performance rebuild kit, TransGo shift kit, Hornblasters 242 Shocker Train Horns.

RadarRider is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 01-29-2013, 01:05 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
low pressure oil pump going out? My uncle had a similar issue with his flat bed. The timing cover was all scored up from a valve spring retainer going through it. He said it would just die every now unthen and then one day going down the highway it just quit. just an idea, I am no professional.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kenphone 143.jpg
Views:	372
Size:	29.6 KB
ID:	60210   Click image for larger version

Name:	kenphone 150.jpg
Views:	220
Size:	23.3 KB
ID:	60218   Click image for larger version

Name:	kenphone 152.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	29.6 KB
ID:	60226   Click image for larger version

Name:	kenphone 172.jpg
Views:	311
Size:	23.2 KB
ID:	60234  
barrakudaman is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 01-31-2013, 12:27 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well it is on a 1/4 tank iv never had any prob with the fuel gauge but I'll sure check it out. An as far as the chip goes I'm goin to take it all the way off an check that also. I hate using ether an I know its bad. Iv had a few diesel trucks in my day an never seen this before it acts like some kind of safety switch. This truck is not abused but I know things can happen I'll check those things an soon as I find out or it starts I'll post what I found I app all your comments an will still listen to all you guys have to say thanks
heavyr is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 02-04-2013, 02:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ft. myers
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
reflash the computer it might be idm ????
northernoffshore is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome