Throttle NOT responding when driving...Please help! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2012, 06:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Carpentersville, Illinois
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to wickedford82
Throttle NOT responding when driving...Please help!

Hi. I have a 1999 F250 SD 7.3. I'm kinda new to diesels and learning as I go along. Once in awhile when I'm driving the truck, I'll get no throttle response. I press the accelerator pedal and get nothing when taking off from a stop. It only lasts for 3-5 seconds then its ok.
I called the dealer and they told me the truck doesn't have a Throttle Position Sensor; I find that hard to believe. But is there one or not? A friend told me it could be the ECM?
These are the codes its giving:

P0122
Throttle/Pedal Position Sensor A Circuit Low Input
P0238 - $
Turbo/Super Charger Boost Sensor. A Circuit High
P1670
Electronic Feedback Signal Not Detected
P0221
Throttle/Pedal Position Switch. B Circuit Range/Performance
P0470
Exhaust Pressure Sensor
P1139
Water In Fuel Indicator Circuit



Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-25-2012, 09:46 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Salinas CA.
Posts: 406
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did alittle research, dormanproducts 699-201 sensor not sure of the price? call local parts store
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-25-2012, 09:58 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Carpentersville, Illinois
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to wickedford82
Which part are you suggesting I replace?


Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-26-2012, 04:49 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Salinas CA.
Posts: 406
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The part number I gave you is the sensor on the gas pedal, start there first and see if that doesn't clear a couple codes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-26-2012, 08:22 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Carpentersville, Illinois
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to wickedford82
Ok thanks.
I checked Auto Zone and they have Dorman for $139.95 and NAPA has the Echlin brand for $40.50. That's a big difference, so I wonder which is better. I've actually liked NAPA parts better in the past.


Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-03-2012, 02:39 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Carpentersville, Illinois
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to wickedford82
I can now 100% confirm that the issue I was having is coming from the IVS (Idle Validation Switch).
So for any future enthusiasts having the same issue; diesels have a IVS (Idle Validation Switch) and APPS (Accelerator Pedal Position Sensor), NOT a TPS.


Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Attached Thumbnails
Throttle NOT responding when driving...Please help!-uploadfromtaptalk1354574338157.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-04-2012, 10:56 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Salinas CA.
Posts: 406
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wow that was a big difference in price? I think thats what i paid for my dorman pedal, and the cheaper price was just the switch right? Did it solve you problem and how she running now
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-05-2012, 06:49 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Carpentersville, Illinois
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to wickedford82
I actually didn't replace the sensor yet, I cleaned it with electrical cleaner first and I haven't been having the issue yet. But of course I'll getting the sensor from NAPA since I trust their parts.


Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors